UIWSOM Alumni Excel in First Year of Residency

July 14, 2022

School of Medicine sign and UIW logoIn May 2021, the UIW School of Osteopathic Medicine celebrated its inaugural graduating class. Now, the first cohort has completed a year of residency and six program alumni have been named Resident of the Year by their respective programs.

“The UIWSOM learning community and I have always known that the inaugural Class of 2021 was extraordinary,” said founding Dean Dr. Robyn Phillips-Madson, who retired in June. “Watching these particular graduates excel in their residency programs means that people outside of the SOM are recognizing the same thing. I'm very proud of each and every one of them, and know that their programs and the patients they serve are blessed by their presence, dedication, compassion and care.”

Image of Nicole Biediger

Nicole Biediger

General Surgery, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, El Paso

Image of Jay Feitshans

Jay Feitshans

Internal Medicine, William Beaumont Army Medical Center, El Paso

Image of Sioned Kirkpatrick

Sioned Kirkpatrick

Transitional Resident of the Year, Campbell University, Conway, South Carolina

Image of Nadia Nayar

Nadia Nayar

Family Medicine, CHRISTUS Health/Texas A&M College of Medicine Spohn Hospital, Corpus Christ, Texas

Image of Noor Tariq

Noor Tariq

Psychiatry, TIGMER, San Antonio

Image of Jacob Vosberg

Jacob Vosberg

Internal Medicine, Baylor Scott and White All Saints Medical Center, Temple, Texas

“The UIWSOM inaugural Class of 2021 played an integral role in our development as a new medical school, and we are proud of their continued success,” added UIWSOM Dean Dr. Dr. John Pham. “I am confident they will be exceptional osteopathic physicians who will continue the work of the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word. The future of the UIW School of Osteopathic Medicine is bright, and I am excited for the opportunity to further build on the foundation set by Dr. Robyn Phillips-Madson.”