University Research Council

The University Research Council (URC) exists to support the promotion and development of research and other creative and scholarly activity at the University of the Incarnate Word. Its role is to advise the Provost and Dean of Research and Graduate Support regarding research development at the University. The council identifies the needs of the faculty, students and other researchers; analyzes services, policies and procedures that affect research; and makes recommendations that, in its view, will facilitate the research process and improve research productivity at the University. The URC is not a policy-making body, but rather a council established to develop recommendations to be passed on, through the Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, to the Dean's Council, the Faculty Senate and the Provost, with the ultimate goal of enabling the University to realize its potential for research and creative, scholarly activity.

University Research Council Members, 2023-2024

Mark J Nijland, PhD
Dean of Research and Graduate Studies
Office of Research and Graduate Studies
Phone: (210) 805-3555

Paulo Carvalho, PhD
Associate Professor
Feik School of Pharmacy
Phone: (210) 883-1078

Michael Frye, PhD
Associate Professor, Engineering
School of Math, Science and Engineering
Phone: (210) 829-3160

Art Hernandez, PhD
Professor, Education
Dreeben School of Education
Phone: (210) 283-6409

Steve Mifflin, PhD
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
School of Osteopathic Medicine
Phone: (210) 619-7031

Scott Roberts, PhD
Associate Professor
HEB School of Business and Administration
Phone: (210) 832-2141

Kevin Salfen, PhD
Associate Professor and Assistant Dean
College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Phone: (210) 829-3849