UIW’s 10th President Dr. Thomas Evans Confers Degrees to Fall Class of 2017

May 3, 2019

San Antonio – In his first commencement ceremony as president of the University of the Incarnate Word, Dr. Thomas M. Evans conferred degrees to nearly 1,000 professional, doctoral, graduate and undergraduate students at the University’s Fall Commencement Ceremony held Saturday, Dec. 16 in the Joe and Harry Freeman Coliseum. The Class of 2017, which totaled 1300 students, completed an impressive 45,597 hours of service in the community providing an economic impact totaling $1,100,711.

A link to Saturday’s commencement ceremony is available at UIW 2017 Fall Commencement.

The 2017 Moody Professor, Dr. Laura Muñoz of the Ila Faye Miller School of Nursing and Health Professions, delivered the commencement address, which is considered the students’ “last class.” Muñoz is the founding director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice program and is a former recipient of the UIW Presidential Teaching Award for her dedication as an educator.  The professorship, established in 1971 by the Moody Foundation, reflects the recipient’s level of scholarship, teaching excellence and community service. The Moody Professor is the faculty member chosen to lead the faculty and carry the University Mace.Dr. Laura Munoz

Dr. Christopher Alvarado, alumnus of the UIW Feik School of Pharmacy, was recognized as the 2017 Alumna of Distinction for Professional Development. An honors graduate, Alvarado earned his Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2010 and was presented with the inaugural Dean’s Pinnacle Award for excellence in education and leadership. He has worked in the pharmacy business for more than 30 years and has made providing excellent patient care his primary focus.

                                                     Dr. Christopher Alvarado

A Baccalaureate Mass was held Friday, Dec. 15 in the UIW Alice P. McDermott Convocation Center. The San Antonio Pipes and Drums led the processional and recessional music for Baccalaureate and Commencement. Lena Gokelman director of Campus and Liturgical Music led the musical direction for the 2017 Commencement.


CONTACT:    Margaret Garcia, associate director of communications and marketing, (210) 829-6001, mlgarci2@uiwtx.edu