Directory

Dean and Associate Dean

Dr. Carlos Garcia

Dr. Carlos Garcia

Dean of SMSE

Phone: (210) 829-2717
E-mail: cagarci9@uiwtx.edu

Zhanbo Yang, Ph.D.

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Professor, Associate Dean of SMSE

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 208
Phone: (210) 283-5008
E-mail: yang@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Yang's Bio

SMSE Administration and Staff

Jovany Avila

Engineering – Staff

Office: Founders Hall
Email: joavila@uiwtx.edu

Yvonne C. Burns

Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 128
Phone: (210) 829-2718
Email: ycburns@uiwtx.edu

Noemi Canales

Chemistry Lab Technician

Email: ncanales@uiwtx.edu

Susan Castillo

Susan Castillo

Administrative Assistant to Engineering, Math, Nutrition and Atmospheric Sciences

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 128
Phone: (210) 832-2174
Email: macast10@uiwtx.edu

Stephanie Chong-Macias

Chemistry -Laboratory Instrumentation Specialist

Office: AgSo 7th floor 108
Phone: (210) 805-2397
Email: chongmac@uiwtx.edu

Karina K. Johnson

Biology Advisor

Office: AT&T Science Center 120
Phone: (210) 829-3863
Email: kkjohns@uiwtx.edu

Daniel Potter

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

Office: UIW Solar House
Email: dpotter@uiwtx.edu

Jennifer N. Reamer

Biology Laboratory Director

Office: AT&T 212
Phone: (210) 829-2720
Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu

Mr. Fillmore Spangler

Director of the Math Tutoring Lab

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 336
Phone: (210) 841-7254
E-mail: spangler@uiwtx.edu

View Mr. Spangler's Bio

Stephanie Weiss-Lopez

Engineering-AVS Lab Staff

Office: Founders Hall
Phone: (210) 829-3980
Email: weisslop@uiwtx.edu

Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Sciences and Physics Faculty

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Associate Professor, Chair of the Department of Atmospheric Science, Environmental Sciences and Physics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 105
Phone: (210) 283-6308
E-mail: recarde1@uiwtx.edu

Dr. John N. Hooker

Assistant Professor, Environmental Science

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 234A
Phone: (210) 805-3099
Email: jnhooker@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Dr. Shree R. Nair

Associate Professor, Physics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 102
Phone: (210) 805-2531
E-mail: srnair@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Shanna-Pahl-Lesch

Visiting Assistant Professor, Meteorology

Office: AgSo 7th floor 116
Phone: (210) 890-8504
Email: pahllesc@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Angel Perez-Linde

Research Scientist

Office: AgSo 7th floor 113
Phone: (210) 829-3151
Email: perezlin@uiwtx.edu

Timothy Springer

Visiting Lecturer, Meteorology

Office, AgSo 7th floor 116
Phone: (210) 890-8522
Email: tspringe@uiwtx.edu

Biology Faculty

Ana Vallor

Dr. Ana C. Vallor

Associate Professor and Department Chair

Office: AT&T 312
Office Number: (210) 805-3017
Lab Number: (210) 805-1229
Email: vallor@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Vallor's Bio

Dr Marieke Burleson

Dr. Marieke O. Burleson

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 104
Phone: (210) 805-2544
Email: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Burleson's Bio

Dr. Bridget Ford

Dr. Bridget M. Ford

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 310
Phone: (210) 832-2153
Email: bmford@uiwtx.edu 

View Dr. Ford's Bio

Dr. Alex Martinez

Dr. Alex A. Martinez

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 124 
Phone: (210) 283-5033
Email: aamarti4@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez's Bio

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Dr. Veronica G. Martinez-Acosta

Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 103
Phone: (210) 829-3149
Email: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez-Acosta's Bio

Dr. Bonnie McCormick

Dr. Bonnie D. McCormick

Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118
Phone: (210) 829-3831
Email: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. McCormick's Bio

Benjamin McPherson

Benjamin C. McPherson, Jr.

Instructor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118
Phone: (210) 829-3154
Email: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu

View Mr. McPherson's Bio

Richard Peigler

Dr. Richard S. Peigler

Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 132
Phone: (210) 829-3832
Email: peigler@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Peigler's Bio

Chris Pierce

Dr. Christopher G. Pierce

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 308
Number: (210) 238-6950
Email: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Pierce's Bio

Russell Raymond

Dr. Russell W. Raymond

Associate Professor

Office: AgSo Bldg, Rm 106
Phone: (210) 829-3150
Email: raymond@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Raymond's Bio

Dr. David Starkey

Dr. David E. Starkey

Assistant Professor

Office: BSH 106
Phone: (210) 841-7249
Email: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Starkey's Bio

Chemistry and Biochemistry Faculty

Dr. Robert Garner

Dr. Robert Garner

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry, Department Chair

Office: AT&T 440
Number: (210) 283-6493
E-mail: rgarner@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Office: AT&T 436
Number: (210) 832-2117
E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Lindsay Barron

Visiting Assistant Professor, Biochemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210

Phone: (210) 283-6491

Email: labarron@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

Dr. Rachell Booth

Professor, Biochemistry

Office: AT&T 126
Phone: (210) 829-3158
E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Office: AT&T 128
Number: (210) 829-3145
E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Julian Davis

Dr. Julian Davis

Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

Office: BSH 107
Number: (210) 832-2107
E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Alicia Howard

Instructor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
Phone: (210) 890-5335
Email: alhowar1@uiwtx.edu

Dr Ashok Khanal

Dr. Ashok Khanal

Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Office: AT&T 130
Phone: (210) 841-7498
Email: khanal@uiwtx.edu

See Dr Khanal's Full Bio

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Associate Professor, Biochemistry

Office: AT&T 122
Number: (210) 283-6437
E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Brian Mcburnett

Dr. Brian McBurnett

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Office: AT&T 442
Number: (210) 805-1202  
E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. John Stankus

Dr. John Stankus

Professor, Physical Chemistry

Office: BSH 108
Number: (210) 832-2108
E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Engineering, Computer Information Systems and Cyber Security Systems Faculty

Dr. Michael Fry

Dr. Michael Frye

Professor, Department Chair

Office: Founders Hall
Number: (210) 829-3160
E-mail: mfrye@uiwtx.edu

Meerna E. Ammari

Meerna E. Ammari

Instructor of Computer Information Systems

Office: Agnese-Sosa 7th Floor Room 108
Office Phone: (210) 832-3205
Email: ammari@uiwtx.edu

View Professor Ammari's Full Bio

Dr. Sree Ande

Dr. Sreedevi Ande

Professor of Engineering

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 307
Number: (210) 829-3972
E-mail: ande@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 306
Number: (210) 805-1227
E-mail: arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Caglayan

Dr. Okan Caglayan

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 308
Number: (210) 832-2118
E-mail: caglayan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. James Collins

Dr. James Collins

Assistant Professor of Cyber Security Systems

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 302
Office Phone: (210) 829-3162
Email: jccollin@uiwtx.edu

View Dr Collins' Full Bio

Dr. Gonzalo D. Parra

Assistant Professor, Cyber Security Systems

Office: AgSo 7th fl 113
Phone: (210) 829-3146
Email: gdparra@uiwtx.edu

Shrikanth Vemula

Instructor, Computer Information Systems

Office: Founders Hall
Phone: (210) 283-5047
Email: vemula@uiwtx.edu

Mathematics, Data Sciences and Statistics Faculty

Dr. Lale Asik

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 207
Number: (210) 829-3155
E-mail: asik@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Jake Hammons

Dr. Jake Hammons

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 203
Phone: (210) 283-5032
E-mail: hammons@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Hammons' Bio

Dr. Ku

Dr. Wah-Kwan Ku

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 201
Number: (210) 283-6955
E-mail: ku@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Ku's Bio

Marissa Mascorro

Instructor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
Phone: (210) 829-3170
Email: mamascor@uiwtx.edu 

Amanda Rakowitz

Amanda Rakowitz

Instructor 

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 205
Phone: (210) 832-5480
E-mail: arakowi1@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Scott Smith

Dr. Scott Smith

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 206
Phone: (210) 829-5481
E-mail: sesmith@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Smith's Bio

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Professor, Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 204 
Phone: (210) 805-1228
E-mail: tek@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Tek's Bio

Nutrition Faculty

Beth C, Senne-Duff

Dr. Beth C. Senne-Duff

Associate Professor, Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 304
Phone: (210) 829-3165
E-mail: beths@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Colorado State University
M.S., University of Minnesota
Ph.D., Colorado State University

Joseph C. Bonilla

Dr. Joseph C. Bonilla

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 303
Phone: (210) 829-3908
E-mail: josephb@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Case Western Reserve University
M.S., Texas Tech University
Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Dr. Heather Frazier

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 234B
Phone: (210) 283-5036
E-mail: hrfrazie@uiwtx.edu

Neeta Singh

Dr. Neeta Singh

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 305
Phone: (210) 829-3167
E-mail: singh@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Sukhadia University, India
M.S., Rajasthan Agricultural University, India
Ph.D., Oregon State University