Directory

Dean and Associate Dean

Dr. Carlos Garcia

Dr. Carlos Garcia

Dean of SMSE

Phone: (210) 829-2717
E-mail: cagarci9@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Professor, Associate Dean of SMSE

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 208
Phone: (210) 283-5008
E-mail: yang@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Yang's Bio

SMSE Administration and Staff

Yvonne C. Burns

Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110
Phone: (210) 829-2718
Email: ycburns@uiwtx.edu

Noemi Canales

Chemistry Lab Technician

Email: ncanales@uiwtx.edu

Maria Castillo

Secretary 

Phone: (210) 832-2174
Email: macast10@uiwtx.edu

Florinda C. Galindo

Administrative Assistant

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110
Phone: (210) 829-3148
Email: fgalindo@uiwtx.edu

Jason Gerding

Chem Lab Instrumentation Specialist

Email: gerding@uiwtx.edu

Karina K. Johnson

Biology Advisor

Office: AT&T Science Center 120
Phone: (210) 829-3863
Email: kkjohns@uiwtx.edu

Daniel Potter

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

Office: UIW Solar House
Email: dpotter@uiwtx.edu

Jennifer N. Reamer

Biology Laboratory Director

Office: AT&T 212
Phone: (210) 829-2720
Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu

Mr. Fillmore Spangler

Director of the Math Tutoring Lab

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 336
Phone: (210) 841-7254
E-mail: spangler@uiwtx.edu

View Mr. Spangler's Bio

Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Sciences and Physics Faculty

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Associate Professor, Chair of the Department of Atmospheric Science, Environmental Sciences and Physics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 105
Phone: (210) 283-6308
E-mail: recarde1@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Karen Engates

Visiting Assistant Professor, Environmental Science

E-mail: engates@uiwtx.edu

Gerard J. Mulvey

Dr. Gerald J. Mulvey

Associate Professor, Atmospheric Science

Dr. Mulvey is on sabbatical for Fall 2020 and Spring 2021. Please direct any communication for Dr. Mulvey to Dr. Rosa Cardenas (recarde1@uiwtx.edu).

Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Dr. Shree R. Nair

Associate Professor, Physics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 102
Phone: (210) 805-2531
E-mail: srnair@uiwtx.edu

Biology Faculty

Ana Vallor

Dr. Ana C. Vallor

Associate Professor and Department Chair

Office: AT&T 312
Office Number: (210) 805-3017
Lab Number: (210) 805-1229
Email: vallor@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Vallor's Bio

Marieke Burleson

Dr. Marieke O. Burleson

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 104
Phone: (210) 805-2544
Email: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Burleson's Bio

Dr. Bridget Ford

Dr. Bridget M. Ford

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 310
Phone: (210) 832-2153
Email: bmford@uiwtx.edu 

View Dr. Ford's Bio

Dr. Alex Martinez

Dr. Alex A. Martinez

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 124 
Phone: (210) 283-5033
Email: aamarti4@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez's Bio

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Dr. Veronica G. Martinez-Acosta

Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 103
Phone: (210) 829-3149
Email: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez-Acosta's Bio

Dr. Bonnie McCormick

Dr. Bonnie D. McCormick

Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118
Phone: (210) 829-3831
Email: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. McCormick's Bio

Benjamin McPherson

Benjamin C. McPherson, Jr.

Instructor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118
Phone: (210) 829-3154
Email: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu

View Mr. McPherson's Bio

Richard Peigler

Dr. Richard S. Peigler

Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 132
Phone: (210) 829-3832
Email: peigler@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Peigler's Bio

Chris Pierce

Dr. Christopher G. Pierce

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 308
Number: (210) 238-6950
Email: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Pierce's Bio

Russell Raymond

Dr. Russell W. Raymond

Associate Professor

Office: AgSo Bldg, Rm 106
Phone: (210) 829-3150
Email: raymond@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Raymond's Bio

Dr. David Starkey

Dr. David E. Starkey

Assistant Professor

Office: BSH 106
Phone: (210) 841-7249
Email: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Starkey's Bio

Chemistry and Biochemistry Faculty

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Office: AT&T 436
Number: (210) 832-2117
E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Ashok Khanal

Assistant Professor

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Office: AT&T 128
Number: (210) 829-3145
E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

Dr. Rachell Booth

Professor, Biochemistry

Office: AT&T 126
Phone: (210) 829-3158
E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Julian Davis

Dr. Julian Davis

Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

Office: BSH 107
Number: (210) 832-2107
E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Robert Garner

Dr. Robert Garner

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry, Department Chair

Office: AT&T 440
Number: (210) 283-6493
E-mail: rgarner@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Associate Professor, Biochemistry

Office: AT&T 122
Number: (210) 283-6437
E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Brian Mcburnett

Dr. Brian McBurnett

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Office: AT&T 442
Number: (210) 805-1202  
E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. John Stankus

Dr. John Stankus

Professor, Physical Chemistry

Office: BSH 108
Number: (210) 832-2108
E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Engineering Faculty

Dr. Michael Fry

Dr. Michael Frye

Associate Professor, Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 307
E-mail: mfrye@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Sree Ande

Dr. Sreedevi Ande

Professor of Engineering

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334
E-mail: ande@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 306
E-mail: arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Caglayan

Dr. Okan Caglayan

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334
E-mail: caglayan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Alison Whittemore

Dr. Alison Whittemore

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 308
E-mail: whittemo@uiwtx.edu

Mathematics, Data Sciences and Statistics Faculty

Dr. Lale Asik

Assistant Professor

E-mail: asik@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Ahmed Belhad

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 204
E-mail: belhad@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Belhad's Bio

Dr. Jake Hammons

Dr. Jake Hammons

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
Phone: (210) 832-6955
E-mail: hammons@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Hammons' Bio

Dr. Ku

Dr. Wah-Kwan Ku

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 201
E-mail: ku@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Ku's Bio

Dr. Kiran Mainali

Assistant Professor

E-mail: mainali@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Mainali's Bio

Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Associate Professor 

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 202
Phone: 805-1225
E-mail: mccarron@uiwtx.edu

Amanda Rakowitz

Amanda Rakowitz

Instructor 

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
Phone: (210) 829-5601v
E-mail: arakowi1@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Scott Smith

Dr. Scott Smith

Associate Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 206
Phone: (210) 829-5481
E-mail: sesmith@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Smith's Bio

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Associate Professor, Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 201
Phone: (210) 805-1228
E-mail: tek@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Tek's Bio

Nutrition Faculty

Neeta Singh

Dr. Neeta Singh

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: singh@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Sukhadia University, India
M.S., Rajasthan Agricultural University, India
Ph.D., Oregon State University

Joseph C. Bonilla

Dr. Joseph C. Bonilla

Associate Professor

E-mail: josephb@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Case Western Reserve University
M.S., Texas Tech University
Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Beth C, Senne-Duff

Dr. Beth C. Senne-Duff

Associate Professor

E-mail: beths@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Colorado State University
M.S., University of Minnesota
Ph.D., Colorado State University

Dr. Heather Frazier

Assistant Professor

E-mail: hrfrazie@uiwtx.edu