Directory

Dean and Associate Dean

Dr. Carlos Garcia

Carlos Garcia, Ph.D.

Dean of SMSE

Phone: (210) 829-2717
E-mail: cagarci9@uiwtx.edu

Zhanbo Yang, Ph.D.

Zhanbo Yang, Ph.D.

Professor, Mathematics and Associate Dean of SMSE

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 208
Phone: (210) 283-5008
E-mail: yang@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Yang's Bio

SMSE Administration and Staff

Jovany Avila

Engineering – AVS Lab Staff

Office: Founders Hall
Email: joavila@uiwtx.edu

Susan Castillo

Susan Castillo

Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 128
Phone: (210) 832-2174
Email: macast10@uiwtx.edu

Blanca R. Camarillo

Administrative Assistant to Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology

Office: AT&T, Room 116
Phone: (210) 829-3148
Email: bcamaril@uiwtx.edu

Stephanie Chong-Macias

Chemistry - Laboratory Instrumentation Specialist

Office: Agnese/Sosa, 7 th Floor, Room 108
Phone: (210) 805-2397
Email: chongmac@uiwtx.edu

Daniel Potter

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

Office: UIW Solar House
Email: dpotter@uiwtx.edu

Jennifer N. Reamer

Biology Laboratory Director

Office: AT&T, Room 212
Phone: (210) 829-2720
Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu

Patricia Treviño Casarez

Administrative Assistant to Engineering, Math, Nutrition and Atmospheric Sciences
Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 128
Phone: (210) 829-2718
Email: ptcasare@uiwtx.edu

Stephanie Weiss-Lopez

Engineering - AVS Lab Staff

Office: Founders Hall
Phone: (210) 829-3980
Email: weisslop@uiwtx.edu

Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Sciences and Physics Faculty

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Rosa E. Cardenas, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Physics and Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 105
Phone: (210) 283-6308
E-mail: recarde1@uiwtx.edu

John N. Hooker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Environmental Science

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 234A
Phone: (210) 805-3099
Email: jnhooker@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Shree R. Nair, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Physics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 102
Phone: (210) 805-2531
E-mail: srnair@uiwtx.edu

Shanna Pahl-Lesch, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor, Physics

Office: Agnese/Sosa, 7th Floor, Room 116
Phone: (210) 890-8504
Email: pahllesc@uiwtx.edu

Angel Perez-Linde, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Office: Agnese/Sosa, 7th Floor, Room 113
Phone: (210) 829-3151
Email: perezlin@uiwtx.edu

Biology Faculty

Chris Pierce

Christopher G. Pierce, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biology and Department Chair

Office: AT&T Science Center, Room 308
Number: (210) 238-6950
Email: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Pierce's Bio

Ana Vallor

Ana C. Vallor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biology

Office: AT&T, Room 312
Office Number: (210) 805-3017
Lab Number: (210) 805-1229
Email: vallor@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Vallor's Bio

Lindsey Barron, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor, Biology

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 110
Phone: (210) 283-6491
Email: labarron@uiwtx.edu

Dr Marieke Burleson

Marieke O. Burleson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biology

Office: AT&T, Room 130
Phone: (210) 805-2544
Email: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Burleson's Bio

Dr. Bridget Ford

Bridget M. Ford, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biology

Office: AT&T Science Center, Room 310
Phone: (210) 832-2153
Email: bmford@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Ford's Bio

Dr. Alex Martinez

Alex A. Martinez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biology

Office: AT&T Science Center, Room 124
Phone: (210) 283-5033
Email: aamarti4@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez's Bio

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Veronica G. Martinez-Acosta, Ph.D.

Professor, Biology

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 103
Phone: (210) 829-3149
Email: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Martinez-Acosta's Bio

Dr. Bonnie McCormick

Bonnie D. McCormick, Ph.D.

Professor, Biology

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 118
Phone: (210) 829-3831
Email: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. McCormick's Bio

Benjamin McPherson

Benjamin C. McPherson, Jr.

Senior Instructor, Biology

Office: AT&T Science Center, Room 118
Phone: (210) 829-3154
Email: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu

View Mr. McPherson's Bio

Richard Peigler

Richard S. Peigler, Ph.D.

Professor, Biology

Office: AT&T Science Center, Room 132
Phone: (210) 829-3832
Email: peigler@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Peigler's Bio

Russell Raymond

Russell W. Raymond, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biology

Office: Agnese/Sosa, Room 106
Phone: (210) 829-3150
Email: raymond@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Raymond's Bio

Dr. David Starkey

David E. Starkey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biology

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 106
Phone: (210) 841-7249
Email: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Starkey's Bio

Engineering, Computer Information Systems and Cyber Security Systems Faculty

Dr. Sree Ande

Sreedevi Ande, Ph.D.

Professor, Engineering and Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 307
Number: (210) 829-3972
E-mail: ande@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Michael Fry

Michael Frye, Ph.D.

Professor, Engineering

Office: Founders Hall
Number: (210) 829-3160
E-mail: mfrye@uiwtx.edu

Meerna E. Ammari

Meerna E. Ammari

Instructor of Computer Information Systems

Office: Agnese/Sosa, 7 th Floor, Room 108
Office Phone: (210) 832-3205
Email: ammari@uiwtx.edu

View Professor Ammari's Full Bio

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Javier Arjona-Baez, Ph.D.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 306
Number: (210) 805-1227
E-mail: arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Caglayan

Okan Caglayan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Engineering

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 308
Number: (210) 832-2118
E-mail: caglayan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. James Collins

James Collins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Cyber Security Systems

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 302
Office Phone: (210) 829-3162
Email: jccollin@uiwtx.edu

View Dr Collins' Full Bio

Gonzalo D. Parra, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Cyber Security Systems

Office: Agnese/Sosa, 7th Floor, Room 113
Phone: (210) 829-3146
Email: gdparra@uiwtx.edu

Shrikanth Vemula, Ph.D.

Instructor, Computer Information Systems

Office: Founders Hall
Phone: (210) 283-5047
Email: vemula@uiwtx.edu

Chemistry and Biochemistry Faculty

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Rafael Adrian, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry

Office: AT&T, Room 436
Number: (210) 832-2117
E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

Rachell Booth, Ph.D.

Professor, Biochemistry and Department Chair

Office: AT&T, Room 126
Phone: (210) 829-3158
E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Alaka Chaudhuri, Ph.D.

Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Office: AT&T, Room 128
Number: (210) 829-3145
E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Julian Davis

Julian Davis, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 107
Number: (210) 832-2107
E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu

Charles Fermaintt, Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Biochemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 110
Number: (210)283-6493
Email: fermaint@uiwtx.edu

Alicia Howard, Ph.D.

Instructor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 104
Phone: (210) 890-5335
Email: alhowar1@uiwtx.edu

Dr Ashok Khanal

Ashok Khanal, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Office: AT&T, Room 436
Phone: (210) 841-7498
Email: khanal@uiwtx.edu

See Dr Khanal's Full Bio

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Betsy Leverett, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biochemistry

Office: AT&T, Room 122
Number: (210) 283-6437
E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

Dr. John Stankus

John Stankus, Ph.D.

Professor, Physical Chemistry

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 108
Number: (210) 832-2108
E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu
Dr. Stankus' Curriculum Vitae

Amanda Roberts, Ph. D

Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Building: Agnese/Sosa, 7th Floor, Room 106
Phone: (210) 829-3875
Email: alrobert@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Brian Mcburnett

Brian McBurnett, Ph.D.

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Office: AT&T, Room 442
Number: (210) 805-1202
E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu
Dr. McBurnett's Curriculum Vitae

Mathematics, Data Sciences and Statistics Faculty

Lale Asik, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 207
Number: (210) 829-3155
E-mail: asik@uiwtx.edu

Ummugul Bulut, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Office: Agnese-Sosa 116
Number: (210) 890-8522
E-mail: ubulut@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Jake Hammons

Jake Hammons, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 203
Phone: (210) 283-5032
E-mail: hammons@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Hammons' Bio

Rafiul Islam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 210
Number: (210) 805-1225
E-mail: mdislam@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Ku

Wah-Kwan Ku, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 201
Number: (210) 283-6955
E-mail: ku@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Ku's Bio

Marissa Mascorro

Instructor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 210
Phone: (210) 829-3170
Email: mamascor@uiwtx.edu

Amanda Rakowitz

Amanda Rakowitz

Instructor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 205
Phone: (210) 832-5480
E-mail: arakowi1@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Scott Smith

Scott Smith, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Mathematics

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 206
Phone: (210) 829-5481
E-mail: sesmith@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Smith's Bio

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Suleyman Tek, Ph.D.

Professor, Mathematics and Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 204
Phone: (210) 805-1228
E-mail: tek@uiwtx.edu

View Dr. Tek's Bio

Nutrition Faculty

Beth C, Senne-Duff

Beth C. Senne-Duff, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Nutrition and Department Chair

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 304
Phone: (210) 829-3165
E-mail: beths@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Colorado State University
M.S., University of Minnesota
Ph.D., Colorado State University

Joseph C. Bonilla

Joseph C. Bonilla, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Nutrition

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 303
Phone: (210) 829-3908
E-mail: josephb@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Case Western Reserve University
M.S., Texas Tech University
Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Heather Frazier, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Nutrition

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 234B
Phone: (210) 283-5036
E-mail: hrfrazie@uiwtx.edu

Neeta Singh

Neeta Singh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Nutrition

Office: Bonilla Science Hall, Room 305
Phone: (210) 829-3167
E-mail: singh@uiwtx.edu

Education

B.S., Sukhadia University, India
M.S., Rajasthan Agricultural University, India
Ph.D., Oregon State University