2018 Honors Convocation, DMD Induction, UPD Induction

April 16, 2018

74 students honored at annual event

SAN ANTONIO – The H-E-B School of Business and Administration honored 74 students over the weekend at its annual award ceremony combining the Honors Convocation and the induction ceremonies for the Delta Mu Delta and Upsilon Phi Delta honor societies.

Students, along with their friends and loved ones, gathered in the UIW Student Engagement Center Ballroom for the afternoon ceremony. UIW alumnus Rick Martinez was the guest speaker. Mr. Martinez is the founder of Wellness Project RX and is also a member of the HEBSBA Advisory Board. He encouraged the student honorees to focus on the impact their work will have on the people they serve and to find a mentor to help guide them in their careers. He was also recognized at the event as an honorary member of Delta Mu Delta.

Honors Convocation

2018 Honors Convocation

The Honors Convocation recognizes business students who excel in their respective disciplines, as well as those who go above and beyond through service in pursuit of the UIW Mission. The honorees for each academic discipline are selected by the faculty of the respective disciplines. Expand the table below to see a full list of honorees.

Outstanding Undergraduate Students

  • Accounting – Melina Merritt
  • Banking and Finance – Angelina Vela
  • Economics – Cole Solis
  • General Business – Madison Frerking
  • International Business – Gada Soto Segebre
  • Management – Beatriz Regly
  • Management Information Systems – Wyomi Aguilar
  • Marketing – Claudia Alejandra Zapata
  • Sport Management – Daniel Mata

Outstanding Graduate Students

  • Master of Business Administration – Marisol Cepeda
  • Master of Business Administration International Student – Vikas Chugh
  • Master of Health Administration – Zahida Mahmood
  • Master of Science in Accounting – Sam Alcoreza

Special Honorees

  • Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition Award – Mary Justine Rodriguez
  • Kappa Gamma Pi St. Catherine Medal – Claudia Alejandra Zapata
  • James w. Donovan Accounting Scholarship – Isabella Crawford

Special Awards

  • Accounting Society Leadership Award – Harshita Patel
  • Business Club Leadership Award – Lawson Picasso
  • Undergraduate VITA Volunteer – Tyrande Zhang
  • Graduate VITA Volunteer – Ulysses Luna and David Lawrence
  • Foster McGraw Health Care Administration Student Peer Award – Khian Antwi
  • Graduate International Relations – Abbie Anna Rivas
  • Financial Executives International – Dominique Lopez and Najd Aldawood
  • The Texas Society of CPA’s Accounting Education Foundation Excellence Award – Haley Frias

Delta Mu Delta Induction

2018 DMD Induction

Delta Mu Delta (DMD) is a business honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence of students. Membership is reserved for juniors, seniors and graduate students in the top 20% of their class. Expand the table below for a full list of inductees.


  • Ali Al Hujiri
  • Colby Reese Anthony
  • Dabin Moon Cleary
  • Amanda Fisher
  • Crystal Alexis Flores
  • Luis Kalani Lazo Garza
  • Robert Dean Hackley II
  • Adrian Marie Hanagriff
  • Bianca Gisselle Lopez
  • Victoria Denisse Soto
  • Matthew Daniel Swanson
  • Abdulaziz Salem Towairqi
  • Zoe A. Valadez
  • Kelly Amanda Wright
  • Caden Ray Wylie


  • Yousif Aziz Almutairi
  • LaVoucher V. Bai
  • Alyssa Belle Blakey
  • Victoria Lee Bratcher
  • Devon Brooke Dockery
  • Tessa Gayle Foster
  • Camile Guerre
  • JoAnne Hargraves
  • Anoop M. Kurian
  • Katelyn Annette Lopez
  • Celeste Leann Martinez
  • Harsh Indravadan Patel
  • Nicholas Sheridan Perkins
  • Stirling Frances Phillips
  • Andrea Ramos
  • Mary J. Rodriguez
  • Beatriz Regly Silva Abrantes Teixeira
  • Madison L Slaughter
  • Gada Denisse Soto Segedre
  • Courtney Taylor Stephens
  • Eusebio Valero
  • Angelina Nohemi Vela
  • Elodie-Jane Yates
  • Claudia Alejandra Zapata

Graduate Students

  • Vikas Chugh
  • Chelsea Ann Comeau
  • Francisco Jose Diaz Gutierrez
  • Alejandro Eli Flores
  • Taylor N. Jimeson
  • Muhammad Hisham Khan
  • Rene Juventino Vargas Jr.

Upsilon Phi Delta Induction

2018 UPD Induction

The Upsilon Phi Delta Honor Society (UPD) recognizes and encourages academic excellence in the study of healthcare management and policy. Four students in the Master of Health Administration (MHA) program were inducted into UPD in 2018. UPD membership requires a GPA of 3.9 or higher. Expand the table below to see a full list of inductees.

  • Stephen Lane
  • Omar Basam Thannoun
  • Zahida Mahmood
  • Kyle Jenkins

The H-E-B School of Business and Administration congratulates the 2018 honorees and would like to thank DMD faculty adviser Dr. Joshua Bazzy and the DMD student officers for their efforts in organizing the event. A special thank you is also due to Assistant to the Dean Elaine Cornejo and School Secretary Ivan Ortega for their instrumental planning efforts.

Click through the slideshow below for highlights from the event.