Dr. Teresa Harrison named Advisor of the Year

April 26, 2017

Business students honored at ceremony for student organizations

Dr harrison headshot

SAN ANTONIODr. Teresa Harrison, assistant professor of Business Management and the faculty advisor to the UIW Business Club, was named Advisor of the Year at an annual Awards Dinner recognizing excellence in student organizations at University of the Incarnate Word.

Several H-E-B School of Business and Administration students were also honored at the event, which was held Wednesday, April 26, 2017, in the Rosenberg Sky Room. The dinner was hosted by Campus Life, Campus Engagement, the Student Government Association and the Campus Activities Board. More than 200 people attended.

"Winning this award came as a complete surprise and honor. I view it as recognition of the work the officers and I have accomplished together to engage students, faculty and the community. I will treasure it always," Dr. Harrison said. "Not only am I sincerely grateful for this award, but also for the dedication of Lawson Picasso, Remy Huston, Maria Alvarez, Samantha Long, Kerstin Blachnik and Sabrina Salinas - the Business Club officers - to making our events happen."

Lawson Picasso, 2016-17 Business Club president, presented Dr. Harrison with the award.

"Dr. Harrison has encouraged us to take the reins and grow in our positions. She motivates us to explore our ideas and has never once discouraged us from trying something new," Picasso said. "She does this not for the recognition, but because she truly cares and believes in us and the club."

"We are very blessed to have Dr. Harrison as our Business Club advisor, and I look forward to continuing to work with her," said Kerstin Blachnik, Business Club event manager. "Not only did she show us her support in Business Club related activities, but also in personal matters."

Several business students were also honored at the ceremony.

  • Roberto Burns (Senior, Management) – Student Senator of the Year
  • Jacob Bloodworth (Senior, Management) – Student Leader of the Year
  • Max Guajardo (Senior, Marketing) – Greek Man of the Year
  • Juliangeli Rodriquez (Senior, Business Administration) – Greek Woman of the Year
  • Lexi Pedragon – named Campus Activities Board President