BiologyChemistryEngineeringEnvironmental ScienceMathematicsMeteorologyNutrition Physics

Biology


Bonnie McCormick

Bonnie McCormick

Professor

E-mail: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

 

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo 7th Floor Rm 113
    Number: (210) 829-3831
Barbara Lillian Herlihy

Barbara Lillian Herlihy

Professor

E-mail: herlihy@uiwtx.edu 

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo 7th Floor Rm 113
    Number: (210) 829-2980
Christy MacKinnon

Christy MacKinnon

Professor

E-mail: mackinno@uiwtx.edu
Visit Dr. MacKinnon's Web Site 

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 310
    Number: (210) 829-3147
Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Professor 

E-mail: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu
Visit Dr. Martinez Acosta's Web Site 

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 103
    Number: (210) 829-3149
Benjamin McPherson

Benjamin McPherson

Instructor

E-mail: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu
Visit McPherson's Web Site 

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo 7th Floor Rm 108
    Number: (210) 829-3154

Marieke Burleson

Marieke Burleson

Assistant Professor

E-mail: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo 7th 116
    Number: (210) 805-2544
Richard Peigler

Richard Peigler

Professor 

E-mail: peigler@uiwtx.edu
Visit Dr. Peigler's Web Site

 

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 132
    Number: (210) 829-3832
Chris Pierce

Christopher Pierce

Assistant Professor

E-mail: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo 7th Floor Rm 107
    Number: (210) 238-6950
Russell Raymond

Russell Raymond

Associate Professor

E-mail: raymond@uiwtx.edu
Visit Russell Raymond's Web Site

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo Bldg. Rm 106
    Phone: (210) 829-3150
Dr. David Starkey

David Starkey

Assistant Professor

E-mail: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu 

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 102
    Number: (210) 841-7249
Ana Vallor

Ana Vallor

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: vallor@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 104
    Number: (210) 805-3017

top of page

Chemistry


Dr. Rafael Adrian

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 436
    Number: (210) 832-2117

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Professor, Analytical Chemistry

E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 128
    Number: (210) 829-3145
Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

Dr. Rachell Booth

Professor, Biochemistry

E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 126
    Phone: (210) 829-3158
Dr. Julian Davis

Dr. Julian Davis

Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 107
    Number: (210) 832-2107
Dr. Robert Garner

Dr. Robert Garner

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry, Department Chair

E-mail: rgarner@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: ATT 124
    Number: (210) 283-6493
Dr. Edward Gonzalez

Dr. Edward Gonzalez

Associate Professor, Biochemistry 

E-mail: gonzalee@uiwtx.edu 

  • More Information

    Office: ATT 130
    Phone: (210) 841-7498
Dr. S. Bin Kong

Dr. S. Bin Kong, Department Chair

Professor, Organic Chemistry

E-mail: kong@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Associate Professor, Biochemistry

E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: ATT 122
    Number: (210) 283-6437
Dr. Brian Mcburnett

Dr. Brian McBurnett

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu

Dr. John Stankus

Dr. John Stankus

Professor, Physical Chemistry

E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu

top of page

Engineering


Dr. Alison Whittemore

Dr. Alison Whittemore

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: whittemo@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 308
Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Professor

E-mail: arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 306
Dr. Michael Fry

Dr. Michael Frye

Associate Professor

E-mail: mfrye@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 307
Dr. Caglayan

Dr. Okan Caglayan

Assistant Professor

E-mail: caglayan@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334

Mr. Daniel Potter

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

E-mail: dpotter@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: UIW Solar House
Dr. Sree Ande

Dr. Sreedevi Ande

Professor of Engineering

E-mail: ande@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334

top of page

Environmental Science


Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics faculty are members of the Environmental Science program who contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach toward planning, assessment, and management of our natural resources. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of our environment.

Dr. William F. Thomann, Professor Emeritus

 

  • More Information

    Rider College
    Bryn Mawr College
    University of Texas at El Paso

    Research Interests

    Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Environmental Geology, Ground Water Geology

top of page

Mathematics

Dr. Joleen Beltrami

Dr. Joleen Beltrami

Associate Professor

Email: beltrami@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 205
    Phone: 829-3875

Dr. Jake Hammons

Dr. Jake Hammons

Assistant Professor

E-mail: hammons@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 210
Dr. Xiaochuan Hu

Dr. Xiaochuan Hu

Visiting Assistant Professor

E-mail: xihu@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 207
Dr. Ku

Dr. Wah-Kwan Ku

Assistant Professor

E-mail: ku@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 201
Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Associate Professor 

E-mail: mccarron@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 202
    Phone Number: 805-1225
Dr. Paul F. Messina

Dr. Paul F. Messina

Associate Professor (Currently on leave for military service)

E-mail: messina@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 207
    Phone Number: 832-5665
Amanda Rakowitz

Amanda Rakowitz

Instructor 

E-mail: arakowi1@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 210
    Phone: (210) 829-5601
Dr. Sara Shirinkam

Dr. Sara Shirinkam

Visiting Assistant Professor 

E-mail: shirinka@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 203
    Phone Number: (210) 829-3170

Dr. Scott Smith

Dr. Scott Smith

Associate Professor

E-mail: sesmith@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 206
    Phone: (210) 829-5481
Dr. Suleyman Tek

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: tek@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 201
    Phone: (210) 805-1228

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Professor, Associate Dean of SMSE

E-mail: yang@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 208
    Phone: (210) 283-5008

top of page

Meteorology


Meteorology faculty contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach theory and applications in Meteorology and Broadcast Meteorology. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of Earth's atmosphere.

Gerard J. Mulvey

Gerald J. Mulvey

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: mulvey@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science, Colorado State University
    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, State University of New York at Albany
    B.S. in Physics, York College;
    American Meteorological Society Certified Consulting Meteorologist

    Phone: (210) 805-3099

    Research Interests

    Dr. Mulvey's research interests are in applied cloud and precipitation physics, applied climatology, weather forecasting, and historical weather reconstruction. He is current interests are rain erosion of adobe brick and soils, precipitation and stream flow measurement, and aviation meteorology.

Tim Springer

Timothy Springer

Lecturer

E-mail: tspringe@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, University of California, Los Angeles
    B.S. in Aeronautics, Miami University, Oxford Ohio

Kristina De Leon

Kristina DeLeon

  • More Information

    Kristina De Leon is the morning reporter on News 4 San Antonio Today. A true South Texas native, Kristina De Leon was born in San Antonio. After graduating from MacArthur High School, she earned a Masters degree in Communication and double majored in Psychology and Sociology from the University Of The Incarnate Word. Kristina spent nearly five years as the morning show anchor/reporter for KIII-TV in Corpus Christi, Texas. During that period, she stood on the front lines of three major hurricanes. Before moving back home to San Antonio, Kristina spent a year in the Valley at KGBT-TV as a reporter, producer, and anchor.

top of page

Nutrition


Neeta Singh

Neeta Singh

Associate Professor

E-mail: singh@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S. (Sukhadia University, India),
    M.S. (Rajasthan Agricultural University, India),
    Ph.D. (Oregon State University)

Joseph C. Bonilla

Joseph C. Bonilla

Associate Professor

E-mail: josephb@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S. (Case Western Reserve University),
    M.S. (Texas Tech University),
    Ph.D. (Texas Tech University)

Beth C, Senne-Duff

Beth C. Senne-Duff

Associate Professor

E-mail: beths@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S. (Colorado State University),
    M.S. (University of Minnesota),
    Ph.D. (Colorado State University)

top of page

Physics


Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Associate Professor

E-mail: recarde1@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 105
    Phone: (210) 283-6308
Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Assistant Professor

E-mail: srnair@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 102
    Phone: (210) 805-2531
top of page