BiologyChemistryEngineeringEnvironmental ScienceMathematicsMeteorologyNutrition Physics

Biology


Dr. Bonnie McCormick

Dr. Bonnie D. McCormick

Professor

Email: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 118 
    Phone: (210) 829-3831

Dr. Bridget Ford

Dr. Bridget M. Ford

Assistant Professor

Email: bmford@uiwtx.edu 

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 310
    Phone: (210) 832-2153

Dr. Alex Martinez

Dr. Alex A. Martinez

Assistant Professor

Email: aamarti4@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 124 
    Number: (210) 283-5033

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Dr. Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Professor

Email: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 103
    Phone: (210) 829-3149

Benjamin McPherson

Mr. Benjamin C. McPherson Jr.

Instructor

Email: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 118
    Phone: (210) 829-3154

Marieke Burleson

Dr. Marieke O. Burleson

Assistant Professor

Email: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 104
    Phone: (210) 805-2544

Richard Peigler

Dr. Richard S. Peigler

Professor

Email: peigler@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 132
    Phone: (210) 829-3832

Chris Pierce

Dr. Christopher G. Pierce

Assistant Professor

Email: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 308
    Number: (210) 238-6950

Russell Raymond

Dr. Russell W. Raymond

Associate Professor

Email: raymond@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AgSo Bldg Rm 106
    Phone: (210) 829-3150

Dr. David Starkey

Dr. David E. Starkey

Assistant Professor

Email: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 106
    Number: (210) 841-7249

Ana Vallor

Dr. Ana C. Vallor

Associate Professor, Department Chair

Email: vallor@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T Science Center 312
    Office Number: (210) 805-3017
    Lab Number: (210) 805-1229

 

Biology Department Support Staff


Ms. Jennifer N. Reamer

Biology Laboratory Director

Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu
Office: AT&T 212
Phone: (210) 829- 2720

Ms. Karina K. Johnson

Biology Advisor

Email: kkjohns@uiwtx.edu
Office: AT&T Science Center 120
Office Phone: (210) 829-3863

Mrs. Florinda C Galindo

Secretary

Email: fgalindo@uiwtx.edu
Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110
Phone: (210) 829-3148

top of page

Chemistry


Dr. Rafael Adrian

Dr. Rafael Adrian

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 436
    Number: (210) 832-2117

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

Professor, Analytical Chemistry

E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 128
    Number: (210) 829-3145
Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

Dr. Rachell Booth

Professor, Biochemistry

E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 126
    Phone: (210) 829-3158
Dr. Julian Davis

Dr. Julian Davis

Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: BSH 107
    Number: (210) 832-2107
Dr. Robert Garner

Dr. Robert Garner

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry, Department Chair

E-mail: rgarner@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 124
    Number: (210) 283-6493
Dr. Edward Gonzalez

Dr. Edward Gonzalez

Associate Professor, Biochemistry 

E-mail: gonzalee@uiwtx.edu 

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 130
    Phone: (210) 841-7498
Dr. S. Bin Kong

Dr. S. Bin Kong, Department Chair

Professor, Organic Chemistry

E-mail: kong@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Dr. Betsy Leverett

Associate Professor, Biochemistry

E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: AT&T 122
    Number: (210) 283-6437
Dr. Brian Mcburnett

Dr. Brian McBurnett

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu

Dr. John Stankus

Dr. John Stankus

Professor, Physical Chemistry

E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu

top of page

Engineering


Dr. Alison Whittemore

Dr. Alison Whittemore

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: whittemo@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 308
Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

Professor

E-mail: arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 306
Dr. Michael Fry

Dr. Michael Frye

Associate Professor

E-mail: mfrye@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 307
Dr. Caglayan

Dr. Okan Caglayan

Assistant Professor

E-mail: caglayan@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334

Mr. Daniel Potter

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

E-mail: dpotter@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: UIW Solar House
Dr. Sree Ande

Dr. Sreedevi Ande

Professor of Engineering

E-mail: ande@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall Room 334

top of page

Environmental Science


Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics faculty are members of the Environmental Science program who contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach toward planning, assessment, and management of our natural resources. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of our environment.

Dr. William F. Thomann, Professor Emeritus

  • More Information

    Rider College
    Bryn Mawr College
    University of Texas at El Paso

    Research Interests

    Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Environmental Geology, Ground Water Geology

top of page

Mathematics

Dr. Jake Hammons

Dr. Jake Hammons

Assistant Professor

E-mail: hammons@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
    Phone: (210) 832-6955

Dr. Xiaochuan Hu

Dr. Xiaochuan Hu

Visiting Assistant Professor

E-mail: xihu@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 207
Dr. Ku

Dr. Wah-Kwan Ku

Assistant Professor

E-mail: ku@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 201
Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Dr. Craig S. McCarron

Associate Professor 

E-mail: mccarron@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 202
    Phone Number: 805-1225
Amanda Rakowitz

Amanda Rakowitz

Instructor 

E-mail: arakowi1@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 210
    Phone: (210) 829-5601
Dr. Sara Shirinkam

Dr. Sara Shirinkam

Visiting Assistant Professor 

E-mail: shirinka@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 203
    Phone Number: (210) 829-3170

Dr. Scott Smith

Dr. Scott Smith

Associate Professor

E-mail: sesmith@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 206
    Phone: (210) 829-5481
Dr. Suleyman Tek

Dr. Suleyman Tek

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: tek@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 201
    Phone: (210) 805-1228

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Dr. Zhanbo Yang

Professor, Associate Dean of SMSE

E-mail: yang@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 208
    Phone: (210) 283-5008

top of page

Meteorology


Meteorology faculty contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach theory and applications in Meteorology and Broadcast Meteorology. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of Earth's atmosphere.

Gerard J. Mulvey

Gerald J. Mulvey

Associate Professor, Department Chair

E-mail: mulvey@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science, Colorado State University
    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, State University of New York at Albany
    B.S. in Physics, York College;
    American Meteorological Society Certified Consulting Meteorologist

    Phone: (210) 805-3099

    Research Interests

    Dr. Mulvey's research interests are in applied cloud and precipitation physics, applied climatology, weather forecasting, and historical weather reconstruction. He is current interests are rain erosion of adobe brick and soils, precipitation and stream flow measurement, and aviation meteorology.

Tim Springer

Timothy Springer

Lecturer

E-mail: tspringe@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, University of California, Los Angeles
    B.S. in Aeronautics, Miami University, Oxford Ohio

Kristina De Leon

Kristina DeLeon

  • More Information

    Kristina De Leon is the morning reporter on News 4 San Antonio Today. A true South Texas native, Kristina De Leon was born in San Antonio. After graduating from MacArthur High School, she earned a Masters degree in Communication and double majored in Psychology and Sociology from the University Of The Incarnate Word. Kristina spent nearly five years as the morning show anchor/reporter for KIII-TV in Corpus Christi, Texas. During that period, she stood on the front lines of three major hurricanes. Before moving back home to San Antonio, Kristina spent a year in the Valley at KGBT-TV as a reporter, producer and anchor.

top of page

Nutrition


Neeta Singh

Neeta Singh

Associate Professor

E-mail: singh@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S., Sukhadia University, India
    M.S., Rajasthan Agricultural University, India
    Ph.D., Oregon State University

Joseph C. Bonilla

Joseph C. Bonilla

Associate Professor

E-mail: josephb@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S., Case Western Reserve University
    M.S., Texas Tech University
    Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Beth C, Senne-Duff

Beth C. Senne-Duff

Associate Professor

E-mail: beths@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S., Colorado State University
    M.S., University of Minnesota
    Ph.D., Colorado State University

top of page

Physics


Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

Associate Professor

E-mail: recarde1@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 105
    Phone: (210) 283-6308
Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

Assistant Professor

E-mail: srnair@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Office: Bonilla Science Hall 102
    Phone: (210) 805-2531
top of page