2019 Honors Convocation

April 25, 2019

The Dreeben School of Education hosted its annual Honors Convocation on Wednesday, April 24, 2019 at 5:30 p.m. in the UIW Luella Bennack Music Center. The ceremony recognized the school’s outstanding students in the undergraduate and graduate programs.

Awards and recognitions include the Kappa Gamma Pi Saint Catherine Medal for Student Achievement award, Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition award, Dreeben School of Education awards, Clinical Teachers Pinning Ceremony, Kappa Delta Epsilon induction, and the Doctoral Student Association recognition.

Ann D. David, Ph.D., and Deepti Kharod, Ph.D., co-presented as the Master of Ceremonies by welcoming guests and introducing distinguished faculty.

Denise Staudt, Ed.D., dean of the Dreeben School of Education, said, “Across the year, the Graduate Studies and Teacher Education reflect on their experiences with students, consider the Mission of the University, and the values of the Dreeben School of Education. Students are selected who best exemplify the mission and values. I am very proud of the students who will be receiving awards.”

Achievement Awards

Jennifer Lingsch (second from left) receives two achievement awards, joined by her mother (far left), from Denise Staudt, Ed.D., dean of the Dreeben School of Education and Barbara Aranda-Naranjo, Ph.D., associate provost for Health Professions.

2018-2019 Kappa Gamma Pi Saint Catherine Medal for Student Achievement

Recipients of the Kappa Gamma Pi Saint Catherine Medal for Student Achievement exemplify the high ideals of the University through exemplary leadership and outstanding service to the University and the broader community.

  • Jennifer Lingsch

2018-2019 Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition Award

The scholastic achievement and service award honors long-time Incarnate Word Board President, Dr. Amy Freeman Lee. Since 1978, student recipients have been selected by faculty vote, acknowledging outstanding academic excellence and service activities in church and community.

  • Jennifer Lingsch

Dreeben School of Education Awards

Graduate Studies, Master’s

  • Scholarship - Katrina Bowers
  • Professional Practice - Maryssa Bustamante
  • Child Advocacy - Natasha Nelson
  • Mission Support - Oscar Salazar
  • Community Service - Jesus Ontiveros
  • Outstanding International Student - ZheXu Ji

Graduate Studies, Doctoral

  • Scholarship - Doleatha Thomas
  • Mission Support - Willie Ng
  • Community Service - Bronson Lerma
  • International Student Leadership - Alicja Sieczynska
  • Excellence in Inquiry - Elizabeth Payne Wueste

Teacher Education

  • Rising Star Award - Hannah Sanchez
  • Rising Star Award - Cassandra Phillips
  • Theory into Practice Award - Savannah Hernandez
  • Theory into Practice Award - Allison Waits
  • Community Service Award - Rozlyn Bermea
  • Clinical Teaching Award - Dorothy Hanson
  • Clinical Teaching Award - Christina Smith

Student Organizations

Kappa Delta Epsilon, Education Honor Society 

  • Lucy Alvarado
  • Kelvin Dean
  • Alyssa Garcia
  • Natalie Brooke Hanson
  • Savannah Hernandez
  • Dana Kelly
  • Carolina Lira
  • Andrea Rangel
  • Rubi Rios
  • Maria Rodriguez
  • Michael Weber 

Doctoral Student Association

  • President - Marc Gilbert
  • Secretary - Srikanth Vemula
  • Treasurer - Alicja J. Sieczynska

2018-2019 Clinical Teachers


  • Juliana Alcorta
  • Brianna Blagowsky
  • Araceli Cabrera
  • Janice Carrillo
  • Isabella Conrad
  • Darcie Despres
  • Miranda Gonzalez
  • Dorothy Hanson
  • Courtney Kahn
  • Jennifer Lingsch
  • Brianna Lopez
  • Celeste Lozano
  • Kelsey Martinez
  • Taylor Medina
  • Kristin Olguin
  • Lourdes Palacios
  • Marcus Perez
  • Kearsten Pollok
  • Tyler Preston
  • Kaitlyn Quezada
  • Amanda Smith
  • Marcus Steves
  • Stacie Walsh
  • Alea Welch


  • Amber Aguilar
  • Peter Casola
  • Mary Cook
  • Sterling Davis
  • Christina Smith