The School of Media and Design's (SMD) Graphic Design program at UIW provides students with the necessary design and technical training in preparation for a career in graphic design, interactive design, or various fields related to design and visual communication. The program, offering a Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) in Graphic Design, uses state-of-the-art equipment to ensure students receive the appropriate hardware and software training. Overall, the primary focus is upon design and design principles - the skills that truly allow students to gain and keep employment as the industry continues to evolve and change. UIW's Graphic Design students continue to be recognized on the regional and national stage by the American Advertising Awards (Student ADDY Awards), the Dallas Society of Visual Communicators, Creative Summit, The Brass Ring Awards, AIGA Flux, AIGA Texas Show, Logo Lounge, and CMYK magazine.

American Advertising Awards

The Graphic Design Program at the University of the Incarnate would like to congratulate the students that had work selected as finalists for the 2018 American Advertising Awards hosted by the American Advertising Federation – San Antonio (AAF-SA) chapter.

At a banquet held on March 3, 2018, at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel, the level of winners in each category were announced. Gold, Silver, and Bronze Awards were given, with those winning Student Gold & Silver Awards being advanced to District Competition. Student Judges Awards and Best of Show were also announced.

UIW students took home 15 of the 17 student awards given out that evening: 5 Gold, 3 Silver, 4 Bronze, and 2 Special Judges Awards as well as Best of Show. UIW Graphic Design students competed against other design students from San Antonio College, UTSA, the Art Institute of San Antonio, and Texas State University.

Two UIW students were awarded scholarships of $1500 and $500. The Best of Show winner claimed a $500 prize.

  • Student Gold ADDY Winners: Tehua Cruz, Allison Reyes, Sofia Guajardo, Salman Ali, and Preston Brown
  • Student Silver ADDY Winners: Sofia Guajardo, Thao Nguyen, Alfredo Morales, Allyson Arrogante, and Mark David Rodriguez Pena
  • Student Bronze ADDY Winners: Alejandra Lopez Mendez, Jessica Alvarez, Bailey Lowak, Emily Ruiz, and Preston Brown
  • AAF San Antonio Scholarship Recipients: Margaret Grayson ($1500) and Thao Nguyen ($500)
  • Special Judges Awards: Sofia Guajardo and Salman Ali
Best of Show: Tehua Cruz ($500) 
Visit UIW.GD