Presidential Inauguration

Inauguration Header

March 22, 2018 


The inauguration began with a Eucharistic Celebration in the Chapel of the Incarnate Word, presided over by the Most Reverend Gustavo Garcia- Siller, M.Sp.S., Archbishop of San Antonio.  An academic procession followed, led by UIW Moody Professor Dr. Laura Munoz and the San Antonio Pipes and Drums.  The academic procession included UIW faculty and leadership as well as university presidents and their delegates from across the country.  The procession wove its way through campus to the McDermott Center for the Inauguration Ceremony.

The ceremony began with a musical prelude performed by the UIW Wind Ensemble conducted by Dr. Brett Richardson, followed by the National Anthem sung by the UIW Cardinal Singers, under the direction of Professor William Gokelman.  An invocation was delivered by Rev. Thomas Dymowski, O.SS.T., UIW chaplain.  The ceremony included a litany of greetings from the Board of Trustees, San Antonio Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran, District 3, Alamo Heights Mayor and Chairman of the Search Committee Bobby Rosenthal, Professor Mark Stringham, who brought greetings from the faculty, and Professor Emeritus and alumna Dr. Mary Elaine Jones ’63.

Chairman of the Board Charlie Lutz and Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word Congregational Leader Sr. Teresa Maya CCVI, presented the Inaugural Symbols, the University Mace and Presidential Medallion to Dr. Evans who then offered his Inaugural Address.

Surrounded by family, friends, leaders in higher education and members of the community, the day of celebrations concluded with a reception held in his honor in the UIW Student Engagement Center.



The Word Is...


Inauguration Ceremony


Inaugural Address


Full transcript of Dr. Evans' inaugural address can be read here






Inauguration Week Highlight Images 

Academic Colloquium

Community Picnic


Academic Procession

Inauguration Liturgy

Inauguration Ceremony

The Word In Action, Day of Service