Faculty and Staff

Our faculty and staff make every effort to engage, support and encourage undergraduates both inside and outside the classroom. All full time faculty serve as academic advisors to all our undergraduate majors. In addition, faculty are trained experts and conduct research in a variety of biological areas (i.e. genetics, neuroscience, ecology, molecular and cell biology and microbiology). They welcome the opportunity to train and work alongside undergraduates in their research which allows students to develop and apply critical thinking, writing, and analytical skills in a real world setting.

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Ana C. Vallor's profile photo

Ana C. Vallor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Department Chair

Office: AT&T 312
Phone: (210) 805-3017
E-mail: vallor@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Vallor's website

Dr. Veronica G. Martinez Acosta's profile photo

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 103
Phone: (210) 829-3149
E-mail: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Martinez Acosta's Web Site

Dr. Marieke O. Burleson's profile photo

Marieke O. Burleson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 104 
Phone: (210) 805-2544
E-mail: mburleso@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Burleson's Web Site

Dr. Bridget M. Ford's profile photo

Bridget M. Ford, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 310 
Phone: (210) 832-2153
E-mail: bmford@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Ford's website

Dr. Alex A. Martinez' profile photo

Alex A. Martinez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T 124
Phone: (210) 283-5033
E-mail: aamarti4@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Martinez's Web Site

Dr. Bonnie D. McCormick's profile photo

Bonnie D. McCormick, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118 
Phone: (210) 829-3831
E-mail: mccormic@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. McCormick's website

Benjamin C. McPherson Jr.'s profile photo

Benjamin C. McPherson Jr.

Instructor

Office: AT&T Science Center 118
Phone: (210) 829-3154
E-mail: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu

Visit Benjamin McPherson's Web Site

Dr. Richard S. Peigler's profile photo

Richard S. Peigler, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: AT&T 132
Phone: (210) 829-3832
E-mail: peigler@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Peigler's Web Site

Dr. Christopher G. Pierce's profile photo

Christopher G. Pierce, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AT&T 308
Phone: (210) 238-6950
E-mail: cpierce@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Pierce's Web Site

Dr. David E. Starkey's profile photo

David E. Starkey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: BSH 106
Phone: (210) 841-7249
E-mail: dstarkey@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Starkey's website

Dr. Russell W. Raymond's profile photo

Russell W. Raymond, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: AgSo Bldg. Rm 106
Phone: (210) 829-3150
E-mail: raymond@uiwtx.edu

Visit Dr. Raymond's Web Site

Full Time Staff

Ms. Jennifer Reamer placeholder for missing profile photo

Ms. Jennifer Reamer, M.A.

Biology Laboratory Director

Office: AT&T Science Center 212
Phone: (210) 829-2720
Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu

Ms. Karina Johnson placeholder for missing profile photo

Ms. Karina Johnson

Biology Advisor

Office: AT&T Science Center 120 
Phone: (210) 829-3863 
E-mail: kkjohns1@uiwtx.edu

Mrs. Florinda Galindo placeholder for missing profile photo

Mrs. Florinda Galindo

Secretary

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110 
Phone: (210) 829-3148 
E-mail: fgalindo@uiwtx.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Thomas M. Stedman Jr.'s placeholder for missing profile photo

Dr. Thomas M. Stedman Jr. 

Lecturer

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110 
Phone: (210) 829-3832
E-mail: stedman@uiwtx.edu

Ms. Jennifer Reamer's placeholder for missing profile photo

Ms. Jennifer Reamer, M.A.

Lecturer

Office: AT&T Science Center 212
Phone: (210) 829-2720
Email: jreamer@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Richard J. Nuckels' placeholder for missing profile photo

Dr. Richard J. Nuckels

Lecturer

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110 
Phone: (210) 829-3832
E-mail: nuckels@uiwtx.edu

Ms. Rochelle A. Elfelt's placeholder for missing profile photo

Ms. Rochelle A. Elfelt, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110 
Phone: (210) 829-3832
E-mail: elfelt@uiwtx.edu

Ms. Billie J. Conway placeholder for missing profile photo

Ms. Billie J. Conway

Lecturer

Office: Bonilla Science Hall 110 
Phone: (210) 829-3832
E-mail: conway@uiwtx.edu