Fall 2020

Study abroad at UIW-Heidelberg, Germany next Fall

August 20, 2020 – December 13, 2020 (apply by June 1, 2019)

During the fall semester, you will have the opportunity to explore the city of Heidelberg’s unique international culture. You can enjoy the end of the summer in Germany by going for a stroll along the Neckar River, hiking up the Philosophen Weg for a great view of the city or simply relaxing outside in the courtyard in the afternoon or evening.

Since Heidelberg is close to Germany’s main wine region, students may consider visiting one of the many wine festivals that take place in the surrounding villages throughout the autumn season.

Important Dates

Fall 2020 Important Dates
Event Scheduled Date
Application deadline Saturday, June 1, 2019 (extended deadline)
Arrival at UIW-Heidelberg (plan to arrive by 1 pm) Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2019
Mandatory Orientation Wednesday, Aug. 21 – Friday, Aug. 23, 2019
Immersion Block – Classes Begin Monday, Aug. 26, 2019
Add/Drop Deadline for Immersion Block Sunday, Sept. 1, 2019
UIW-Heidelberg Block – Classes Begin Monday, Sept. 30, 2019
Add/Drop Deadline for UIW-Heidelberg Block Sunday, Oct. 6, 2019
Weekend in Berlin Friday, Oct. 18 – Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019
Fall Break Monday, Oct. 28 – Friday, Nov. 1, 2019
“Castle Talks” International Symposium in Strasbourg Monday, Nov. 4 – Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019
Last day of classes including finals Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019
Check out of housing and departure Friday, Dec. 13, 2019

Spring 2020

Study abroad at UIW-Heidelberg, Germany next Spring

JANUARY 2, 2020 – MAY 1, 2020 (apply by October 15, 2019)

The spring semester is a great time to study at UIW-Heidelberg. Though temperatures might be cold when students arrive in January, by March the sun will be shining and students will be able to enjoy many outdoor recreation activities that the city of Heidelberg and the surrounding areas have to offer.

At the beginning of the semester, for example, students may want to take a trip to one of the many ski regions nearby. As the temperatures slowly rise, Heidelberg’s great outdoors come back to life.

Also during the spring, Heidelberg hosts one of the biggest music festivals in Germany, the Heidelberger Frühling. Each year over the four days of the festival, nearly 30,000 visitors come to Heidelberg to enjoy one of the concerts or just to experience the lively atmosphere that the festival brings to the city.

Important Dates

Spring 2020 Important Dates
Event Scheduled Date
Application deadline Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019
Arrival at UIW-Heidelberg (plan to arrive by 1pm) Thursday, Jan. 2, 2020
Mandatory Orientation Thursday, Jan. 2 – Sun. 7, 2020
Immersion Block – Classes Begin Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2020
Add/Drop deadline for Immersion Block Sunday, Jan. 12, 2020
Culture and Career Seminar (1st session) Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2020 (TBC)
UIW-Heidelberg Block – Classes Begin Monday, Feb. 10, 2020
Add/Drop deadline for UIW-Heidelberg Block Sunday, Feb. 16, 2020
Culture and Career Seminar (2nd session) Wednesday, March 4, 2020 (TBC)
“Castle Talks” International Symposium in Strasbourg TBA
Weekend in Berlin TBA
Spring Break Monday, April 6 – Monday, April 13, 2020
Last day of classes including finals Thursday, April 30, 2020
Check out of housing Spring 2020 Friday, May 1, 2020

Summer 2020

Make next summer your most memorable yet. Two summer sessions available!

Summer I: May 27 - June 26, 2020
Summer II: July 2 - July 31, 2020

Summer I and II Important Dates
Event Summer I Summer II
Application Deadline Sunday, March 1, 2020 Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Arrival at UIW-Heidelberg (Plan to Arrive by 1 pm)

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 Thursday, July 2, 2020
Mandatory Orientation Wednesday, May 27 - Sunday, May 31, 2020 Thursday, July 2 ‐ Monday, July 6, 2020
Classes Start Monday, June 1, 2020 Monday, July 6, 2020
Add/Drop Deadline for UIW-Heidelberg Courses Friday, June 5, 2020 Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Last Day of Class Including Finals Thursday, June 25, 2020 Thursday, July 30, 2020
Check out of housing Friday, June 26, 2020 Friday, July 31, 2020