The Premier Wind Band at the University of the Incarnate Word

Founded in 2009, the Wind Ensemble serves the UIW community as the premier wind band on campus. The ensemble is conducted by Dr. Brett A. Richardson, Coordinator of Music Education/Director of Bands. The ensemble is a class you must register for (MUEN 1185) and meets in the Spring semester on Monday/Wednesday from 4:30-6:00 PM and Fridays from 1:30-2:30 PM. In addition, the ensemble performs two concerts annually. Select members participate in the Baccalaureate Mass at the end of the Spring semester. The band rehearses in the Band and Orchestra Hall (Rm.120) on the first floor of the Bennack Music Center located next to the Administration Building.

For more information about joining the Wind Ensemble, please contact Dr. Richardson.


Membership in the Wind Ensemble is open to all students on campus who have a woodwind, brass, or percussion background. The ensemble is open to all majors and prior playing experience is strongly suggested.


Students registered for ensembles may be eligible for ensemble scholarships. These are based on audition and departmental need. Contact the director for more information.


Auditions are usually held with the Director of Bands during the first week of classes in the Spring semester to determine part distribution and chair placement. Rehearsals begin at the start of the Spring semester.

2018-19 Concert Schedule and Programs

***All programs subject to change.***

All concerts are free admission

Information updated in September 2018!

Programming Philosophy

The repertoire selected for the modern wind ensemble should be emotionally enriching, intellectually stimulating, and technically demanding. To this end, the mission of the UIW Wind Ensemble will be:

  • To perform the core repertoire for bands and winds, including chamber music.
  • To perform new compositions and in the future, premieres of works commissioned by the UIW band program.
  • To perform with outstanding guest artists and UIW's stellar faculty.
  • To perform marches with respect for the history and legacy of the form and its inherent style.
  • To perform some of the finest transcriptions written for bands.

Past Repertoire for the UIW Wind Ensemble


Alberto Ginastera/arr. David John - "Danza Final" from Estancia Dances (1941)
Alex Shapiro - Moment (2016)
Carol Brittin Chambers - Cedar Canyon Sketches (2010)
David Maslanka - On this Bright Morning (2013)
Frank Ticheli - San Antonio Dances (2011)
Clifton Williams - Fanfare and Allegro (1956)
James Syler - Silent Shadows to the Last: Three Walt Whitman Poems for Soprano and Band (2017)
John Philip Sousa - The Belle of Chicago (1892)
John Philip Sousa, ed. Fennell - Daughters of Texas (1929)
Julie Giroux - Shadow Falls (2013)
Olivia Kieffer - ...and the Universe exploded (2017)


Alfred Reed - Russian Christmas Music (1944)
Benjamin Dean Taylor - The Hope Within (World Premiere) (2016)
David Biedenbender - Melodious Thunk (2012)
Donald Grantham - Shenandoah (2017)
Franco Cesarini - Variations on a French Folk Song (2000)
Gustav Holst/ed. Matthews - Second Suite in F, Op. 28, No. 2 (1911)
Henry Fillmore - Orange Bowl (1939)
Jack Stamp - Cenotaph (1992)
Leroy Anderson - A Christmas Festival (1950)
Ola Gjeilo - Meridian (2011)
Percy Aldridge Grainger/ed. Schissel and Sousa - Handel in the Strand (1912)
Steve Smith - Capilano Fanfare (2011)
Steven Bryant - Dusk (2004)

*Season featured first-ever tour by the Wind Ensemble to high schools in the greater San Antonio area


Aaron Copland, arr. Longfield - Excerpts from Appalachian Spring (1943; 2015)
Alex Shapiro - Tight Squeeze (2013)
Carl Teike, ed. John R. Bourgeois - Old Comrades (1889)
Clifton Williams - Symphonic Dance No. 3, "Fiesta" (1967)
David Gillingham - Foster's America (2003)
Eric Whitacre, arr. Jeffrey D. Gershman - Sleep, My Child (2009)
Franco Cesarini - Greek Folk Song Suite (2002)
Frank Ticheli - Earth Song (2012)
Fred J. Allen - Exhilaration (2005)
James Syler - Hymn for Emanuel (2015)
Sousa, arr. Damrosch - The Star-Spangled Banner
Todd Stalter - Ignition (2011)
Tommy J. Fry - Triptych (1971)


Andrew Boysen, Jr. - Kirkpatrick Fanfare (1999)
Jess Langston Turner - The King of Love My Shepherd Is (2007)
Frank Erickson - Toccata for Band (1957)
John Mackey - Sheltering Sky (2012)
Henry Fillmore - Americans We (1918)
Joseph Curiale - "Joy" from Awakening (1995)
Pavel Tschesnokov, arr. Houseknecht - Salvation is Created (1912)
Percy Aldridge Grainger, ed. Sousa/Schissel/Brion - Country Gardens (1918)
Percy Aldridge Grainger, ed. Rogers - Shepherd's Hey (1911)
Ralph Vaughan Williams - Flourish for Wind Band (1939)
Eric Whitacre - Lux Aurumque (2000)

Composers Commissioned by the UIW Wind Ensemble

The UIW Band program is proud of its efforts in commissioning new works or participating in commissioning consortiums for the creation of new music. Since 2014, the UIW Wind Ensemble has commissioned the following composers:

  • Onsby Rose - Heroes: A Short Symphony for Winds and Percussion (2018)
  • James Syler - Silent Shadows to the Last (2017)
  • Donald Grantham - Shenandoah (2017)
  • Benjamin Dean Taylor - The Hope Within (2016)
  • Jess Langston Turner - Nothing to Fear, Nothing to Doubt (2016)
  • Jim Bonney - DarkLIGHTNess (2014)

Conductors of the UIW Wind Ensemble

  • Dr. Brett A. Richardson ( 2014-Present)
  • Prof. Larry Loden* ( 2013-2014)
  • Prof. Ferdinand Vollmar (Founding Director,  2009-2013)