Full-time Faculty

lopitanath_histfac

Lopita Nath, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair
Department of History Asian Studies Program

Office: AD 357
E-mail: nath@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 832-2187

Interests: South Asian History and Politics, Asian and World History, Migration Studies, Refugee Studies, Issues of Human Displacement, Citizenship, Security and Human Rights.
Courses Taught: World History, History of South Asia, Modern India, Southeast Asia, Japan, China and Korea, Afghanistan, Middle East, History of Islam, Global Refugees, Global Human Rights, Migration Studies and Inquiry into the Modern World.

tabit

Michelle Tabit, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of History

Office: AD 355
E-mail: tabit@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 283-6346

Interests: American Women’s History, US History, and Latin American History with special emphasis on Mexico, Cuba and the Caribbean, Brazil, and Slavery.
Courses Taught: US Survey I & II, World History II, War and Society, Latin America Survey (pre and post-independence), American Women's History, Harry Potter and History, and Star Trek History and Culture

cannonlaura_facultyhist

Laura Cannon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of History

Office: AD 251
E-mail: lcannon@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 283-5039

Interests: Texas History, the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, Mexican American history, labor history, the history of civil rights, and the history of race and citizenship.
Courses Taught: U.S. to 1865; U.S. since 1865; Texas History; Foundations of Historical Research; U.S. National Period

Part-Time Faculty

Dr. Gilberto M. Hinojosa

E-mail: hinojosa@uiwtx.edu

Lesli L. Hicks

E-mail: llhicks@uiwtx.edu

Mary E. Ferrer

E-mail: mferrer@uiwtx.edu

Timothy J. Draves

E-mail: draves@uiwtx.edu

Minda C. Webber

E-mail: mwebber@uiwtx.edu

Kimberlee J. Ortiz

E-mail: kjortiz@uiwtx.edu