Full-Time Faculty

This list is a good way to get a feel for the department. You can also find out which instructors share your interests, especially if you need a thesis advisor.

clark

Emily Clark, Ph.D.

Associate Professor / Department Chair

Office: AD 359
E-mail: ejclark@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 283-5061

Interests: Postcolonialism, Modern British Literature, Modern American Literature, Critical Theory
Courses Taught: Composition I and II, Studies in World Literature, Literary Theory

armstrong

David Armstrong, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AD 340C
E-mail: darmstro@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3886

Interests: Creative Writing, the Short Story, Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature, the Novel, the contemporary essay, Naturalism/Realism
Courses Taught: Fiction Writing, Creative Nonfiction Writing, Magazine/Article Writing, American Literature

baker

James Baker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AD 340D
E-mail: jabaker2@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 283-6343

Interests: Rhetorical Theory and Criticism, Early British Literature, 20th Century American Literature, Technical Communication
Courses Taught: Composition I & II, World Literature, Technical Communication, Intro to Rhetorical Theory, Rhetorical Criticism, Visual Rhetoric, British Literature, Graphic Novel, Writing for Business

ldamico

Luella D'Amico, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AD 351
E-mail: ldamico@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3892

Interests: Early and Nineteenth-century American literature, Girlhood Studies, Women's Writing, Transatlanticism, Young Adult Fiction, and Native American Literature
Courses Taught: Composition II, World Literature, American Literature Survey

harding

Tisha Harding, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: AD 340A
E-mail: lharding@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-6028

Interests: Technical Communication, Visual Rhetoric, The Rhetoric of Science Writing, Political Rhetoric
Courses Taught: Composition, Professional and Technical Communication, Integrated Language Arts, Writing for Business, Writing for Science and Engineering, Rhetorical Theory, Literature for Children and Young Adults

mathews

Elizabeth Mathews

Instructor

Office: AD 340D
E-mail: hooper@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 805-5888

Interests: Composition, African American Literature, and Gender Studies
Courses Taught: Composition I, Composition II, Business and Technical Writing, and American Literature

miele

Benjamin Miele, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AD 351
E-mail: miele@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-2536

Interests: Early British Literature, Medieval and Early Modern Literature and Culture, Shakespeare, Non-Shakespearean Renaissance drama, the Reception of the Classics (especially Ovid), History of the English Language, Historical Linguistics, Renaissance Rhetoric, Book History, and Surveillance Studies
Courses Taught: Composition II, World Literature, Early British Literature Survey

pat lonchar

Pat Lonchar, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: AD 163
E-mail: lonchar@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3886

Interests: British Literature (Old English-18th century), Medieval Studies, Women's Studies, Holocaust Studies, Rhetoric/Composition, American Literature (Colonial-19th century), Grammar, Writing for the Professions, World Literature in Translation.
Courses Taught: Restoration Literature, Children's Literature, the Novel, Bibliography/Textual studies, Pedagogy of English Language and Literature

perez

Héctor Pérez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English

Office: AD 347
E-mail: perez@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3166

Interests: American Literature (late 19 th century-contemporary); Latin American Literature; Literary Theory; Rhetoric/Composition; Postcolonial Theory and Literatures; World Literatures; Chicana/o Studies; Realism/Naturalism.
Courses Taught: Composition; World Literature Studies; Literary Theory; Chicana/o Literature; American Literature II; Genre Studies—Short Fiction.

pryor

David Pryor

Instructor

Office: AD 259
E-mail: pryor@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-6066

Interests: Composition Studies, American Literature, Modernism, Film Studies, Eastern Philosophy
Courses Taught: American Literature, Composition I, Composition II, Writing for the Professions, World Literary Studies, Literature and the Environment, and The Graphic Novel.

Robbins

Joshua Robbins, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: AD 340C
E-mail: joshua.robbins@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-6383

Interests: Poetry Writing, Lyric Essay, Creative Writing, Modern and Contemporary American Poetry, Literature and Theology, Writing in the Community
Courses Taught: Poetry Writing, Traditional Forms and Meters, Creative Nonfiction, Fiction Writing, Trauma Writing, Graphic Novel, Editing and Publishing,World Literature, Composition I, Composition II

schubnell

Matthias Schubnell. Ph.D.

Professor

Office: AD 351
Phone: (210) 829-3892
E-mail: schubnel@uiwtx.edu

Interests: American Lit. (Colonial-Contemporary); German Lit.; World Lit. in Translation; Rhetoric/Composition; Novel
Courses Taught: Native American Studies; Lit. of the Southwest; Willa Cather; M. Scott Momaday; Literature and the Environment

stampfl

Tanja Stampfl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: AD 340C
E-mail: stampfl@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3885

Interests: World Literature, American Literature, Composition and Rhetoric, Gender and Race Studies,Post-colonial Theory and Literature, Genre Studies
Course Taught: Composition, World Literature, Literary Theory, The Arab Novel, Contemporary Arab Literature, Publishing and Editing

swofford

Mary Beth Swofford, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: HIT 200D
E-mail: swofford@uiwtx.edu
Phone: (210) 829-3807

 

Part-time Faculty

Philipi Arevalo

E-mail: parevelo@uiwtx.edu

Julie Cohen

E-mail: jcohen@uiwtx.edu

Shay Haby

E-mail: mhaby@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Maureen King

E-mail: msking@uiwtx.edu

Elizabeth Riordan Lakin

E-mail:  lakin@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Jo LeCoeur

E-mail:  lecoeur@uiwtx.edu

Santiago (Jim) Longoria

E-mail:  salongo@uiwtx.edu

Laura Lopez

E-mail:  lopell@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Betty Moss

E-mail:  bmoss@uiwtx.edu

Emil Mucchetti

E-mail:  mucchett@uiwtx.edu

Jeanette Pierce

E-mail:  jmpierce@uiwtx.edu

Michelle Pina-Theall

E-mail:  mppina@uiwtx.edu

Frances Riley

E-mail:  friley@uiwtx.edu

Emily Robbins

E-mail:  erobbins@uiwtx.edu

Katherine Skwarczek

E-mail: skwarcze@uiwtx.edu

Jackie Sundol

E-mail: sundol@uiwtx.edu

Todd Wright

E-mail: tawright1@uiwtx.edu