Search the Word

Class Notes

Jul 21st, 2011 | Category: Alumni Connections


June White ’68 BS recently published her first book “Daughters of Isis” with Dorrance Publishing Co. and is writing her second book.

Sr. Eilish Ryan

Sr. Eilish Ryan, CCVI, ’68 BA ’76 MA, UIW professor of religious studies, received the 2011 Called and Gifted award from the Association of Graduate Programs in Ministry. This award recognizes Sr. Eilish’s “integrity, scholarship, and longevity of service to the Church and AGPIM as a ministry educator.”


Barbara Troutz ’80 BA published her book, “Resurfacing: Climbing out of the pit of grief.”

Dr. Reginald F. Davis ’88 BA published a new book titled “Bible Study for Busy Pastors and Ministers.”


Dr. Monica Rameriz

Dr. Monica Ramirez ’01 BSN ’03 MSN,of the Ila Faye Miller School of Nursing and Health Professions, earned a Ph.D. in nursing from UT-Tyler.

McNair scholar, Selene Hernández (Mena-Fernández) Ruiz ’02 BS successfully defended her dissertation on April 20 and her project is titled “Sorption and Mobility of Pharmaceutical Compounds in Soils Irrigated with Treated Wastewater.” She also has a Master of Science in environmental science from UTSA and earned a Ph.D. from the University of Arizona Department of Soil, Water and Environmental Science. She will be the keynote speaker at the South Texas Regional McNair Scholars Research Conference on Sept. 17.

Leo Peters ’02 BA is working on “Death and the Dreamlife of Elephants,” a theatre performance in Wellington, New Zealand.

Karen Feldman ’03 BA, ’06 MAA published “Glorious Wings,” a children’s book, through PublishAmerica.

Ya’Ke Smith ’03 BA was named Alumni of Distinction for Professional Achievement at the May commencement ceremony. His recent film “Katrina’s Son” was screened at the Cannes Film Festival.

Abigail Shaver ’07 BA, ’09 MA has been named president of the Sundt Foundation, one of the country’s largest general contractors, for the upcoming year.

Jessica Garza ’08 BS graduated with a Master of Science in meteorology from the University of Hawaii.

Navid Afshar ’09 BA serves as the stage manager for Heddatron in Chicago for the second annual Garage Rep, an annual program put on by the Steppenwolf Theatre Company in Chicago.

Guadalupe Flores ’10 BA had her original play, “The Coyote Strategem,” selected from submissions all over the United States to be presented at the 10-minute Play Festival at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., in April.

Felix Nguyen ’11 Pharm.D. was hired for the position of executive resident by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA).

D. Anthony Miles

D. Anthony Miles ’11 Ph.D. published his book “Risk Factors and Business Models.” He also won an award for 2010 Student Recognition for teaching excellence at Texas A&M San Antonio.

Congratulations to Janell Trevino ’03 BA, Margaret Ytuarte ’07 BA, ’10 MBA, Jason Herrera ’08 BBA MS, Eunice Lopez ’00 BBA, and Frenchellen Gilliam ’08 BBA, MA on their recent election to the UIW Alumni Board!

Tags: , ,