Student Success

Student Success Team

Home  >  Student Success  >  Student Success Team

The Student Success Team works to assist students on their path towards graduation.

Office of the Dean of Student Success

Sandy McMakin
Dean: mcmakin@uiwtx.edu, CH 16, 805-3005

Rita Maltos
Secretary to the Dean: rmaltos@uiwtx.edu, CH 16, 805-5813

Janine Chavez
Secretary: jlchavez@uiwtx.edu AD 55, 829-3817                             

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

Advising Center (UAC) / Directions & Connections (DCC)

Dr. Sonia Jasso
Director: sjasso@uiwtx.edu, AD 57, 283-6320

Kedra Grant-Brinkley
Assistant Director: kegrant@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 829-3927

Janie Rios
Secretary: jarios1@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 805-5814

Haley Ayres
Business Advisor: ayres@uiwtx.edu, GB 107, 930-8014

Diana Dimas
Advising Specialist: dimasd@uiwtx.edu, AD 120, 283-6321

Dora Garner
Academic Counselor: dgarzatr@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 805-5831

Ashleigh Smith
Athletic Advisor: ansmith2@uiwtx.edu, AD 111, 283-6337

Dr. Lisa Valenzuela
Nursing Advisor: lshaver@uiwtx.edu, NB 112, 283-6322

Mara Young
Biology Advisor: myoung@uiwtx.edu, ATT 120, 829-3863

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

Judicial Education

Dr. Renee Moore
Associate Dean: reneem@uiwtx.edu, AD 439, 805-5864                   

_________________________________________________________________________________

Residence Life

Diane Sanchez                                                  
Director:  castaned@uiwtx.edu, AD 52, 829-3819

JR Chiodo-Benmuvhar
Assistant Director: chiodoe@uiwtx.edu, Joeris Hall Offices 1st floor, 883-1996

Manuel Esquivel                                              
Coordinator of Operations: meesquiv@uiwtx.edu, AD 41, 805-5865

Liz Valerio                                                                  
Coordinator of Boarding Program  IWHS_SACHS, gvalerio@uiwtx.edu, 841-7403

Soraida Portales
Assistant Coordinator Boarding Program IWHS-SACHS: sportale@uiwtx.edu, 841-7404

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

Student Disability Services (SDS)

Moisés J. Torrescano
Director: moisest@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 829-3928

Michelle Beasley
Academic Counselor: beasley@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 829-3997

_________________________________________________________________________________

Student Engagement 

Paul  Ayala                                                                                                              
Director: peayala@uiwtx.edu, AD 122, 805-5863

Paulina Mazurek                                                                                                                 
Assistant Director: pmazurek@uiwtx.edu, AD 122 306, 841-7365                                                                         ________________________________________________________________________________

Testing Services

Moisés J. Torrescano
Director: moisest@uiwtx.edu, AD 105, 829-3928

Matthew Gonzalez
Coordinator: mgonza17@uiwtx.edu, AD 216, 283-3876

_________________________________________________________________________________

TRiO: Student Support Services (TRiO)

Wynette H. Keller
Director: wkeller@uiwtx.edu, AD 117, 829-3938

Dalia Bishop-Counts
Program Leader: debishop@uiwtx.edu, AD 225, 805-3553

Alejandra DeHoyos
Program Counselor: aldehoyo@uiwtx.edu, AD 225, 832-2152

_________________________________________________________________________________

Tutoring Services

Cristina Ariza
Director: mariza@uiwtx.edu, AD 206, 283-5020

_________________________________________________________________________________

Writing & Learning Center (WLC)

Dr. Amanda Johnston
Director: ajohnsto@uiwtx.edu, AD 206, 805-5856

Marisa Cheatum
Secretary: creech@uiwtx.edu, AD 206, 283-6326