The UIWSOM curriculum is integrated and designed to support learners in their acquisition of knowledge, skills and competencies expected at each level of training, and to culminate with entry into graduate medical education programs with the competencies required of an entering PGY1 resident. The curriculum components and threads support the UIWSOM mission promoting the principles and practices of osteopathic primary care, social accountability and community service. The curriculum is organized by units, starting with a foundational applied biomedical science unit built around national emergency medical technician and crisis intervention training (CIT) curricula. Year 1 students will learn the basic clinical skills of an EMT, which will enable them to contextualize biomedical sciences in an authentic patient care setting. The units which follow are organized by system in the order in which they are introduced in the Foundations/EMT/CIT unit. Learning utilizing interactive learner-centered techniques in a variety of settings will allow learners to understand and apply acquired knowledge and skills.

The UIWSOM curriculum will integrate areas of biomedical sciences and disciplines related to osteopathic medicine including the principles, history and practice of osteopathic medicine, human anatomy, biochemistry, pharmacology, genetics, physiology, pathology, microbiology, physical and differential diagnosis, medical ethics and legal aspects of medicine; internal medicine, family medicine, pediatrics, geriatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, preventive medicine and public health, psychiatry, surgery, radiology, and basic knowledge of the components of research. The goal of the curriculum is for the learner to acquire critical thinking skills and to prepare them to enter GME with life-long learning skills.

Learning strategies also incorporate formative and summative assessments of the learners, and continual evaluation of the units, rotations, phases and overall curriculum for continuous improvement and dynamic evolution of the program.

The UIWSOM curriculum is divided into four phases. Phases I and II consist of three curricular components:

  • Applied Biomedical Sciences integrates the mechanisms of health, disease and intervention by including normal and abnormal molecular, cellular, and organ physiology; pharmacology and therapeutics; normal and abnormal anatomy, histology, embryology, pathology, and imaging;
  • Osteopathic Clinical Applications includes Developing Osteopathic Clinical Skills (DOCS) which contains OPP, OMT, and clinical skills; early clinical and interprofessional education experiences; medical humanities; health delivery science; patient safety and quality improvement; opportunities to learn basic medical Spanish; and clinical applications of technology
  • Professional Identity Formation includes opportunities for reflection; longitudinal mentoring, coaching and advising; collaborative learning environments; and formal ethics instruction.

The six threads weaving throughout the curriculum are as follows:

  • Mental Health and Wellness
  • Spirituality
  • Social Accountability, Service and Scholarship
  • Student Success, Mentoring and Advising
  • Board Preparation
  • Evidence-based Medicine

Phase I begins with 9 weeks of Foundations of Applied Biomedical Sciences/EMT/Crisis Intervention Training (CIT), and continues with the following units organized by systems:

  1. Skin, Muscle, Bone and Joint
  2. Molecules, Cells, Cancer and Genetics
  3. Host and Defense
  4. Gastroenterology, Endocrinology and Nutrition

Phase II consists of Units 5 through 7. Unit 8 is a capstone, which is followed by a continuation of board preparation which, as noted previously, is a thread throughout Phases I through IV.

  1. Cardiovascular, Respiratory and Renal Systems
  2. Metabolism and Reproduction
  3. Brain and Behavior
  4. Capstone (Spirituality, Mental Health and Wellness)
  5. COMLEX Level 1 Preparation/Examination

In Phases I and II, each week is defined by a specific theme and anchored by case-based learning. The curriculum will be delivered in small group, medium group, and large group interactive settings, an applied biomedical science laboratory, online modules, self- and faculty directed learning activities, osteopathic clinical skills lab, simulation lab, and in community health care, service-related and scholarly activities.

Between Foundations/EMT/CIT and each following unit through Brain and Behavior, a Reflection, Integration and Assessment week is scheduled which will include individual and group examinations, laboratory practical examinations, OSCEs, osteopathic clinical skills evaluations, simulation assessments, completion of specified numbers of board questions, and essays.

Phase III consists entirely of required core rotations. Each Phase III core rotation is 6 weeks in length. A Reflection, Integration and Assessment week is scheduled every 12 weeks in between every two rotations. The following core rotations are required:

  • Family Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • General Surgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Psychiatry
  • Women’s Health
  • Medically Underserved (rural or urban)

In addition, Phase III and the 4-week core Emergency Medicine rotations contain an integrated OPP/OMM longitudinal integrated clerkship (LIC) component. Throughout Phase III and the EM rotation, direct observation and evaluation by OPP/OMM faculty will be required.

Phase IV consists of a required 4-week Emergency Medicine core rotation, 3 selective, and 5 elective rotations, COMLEX Level 2-CE and PE preparation and examination, and a three week Ready for Residency unit, during which students will be assessed for the entry-level ACGME PGY1 Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs).

A visual map of the curriculum can be found here