Presidential Search

Institutional Profile

Home  >  Presidential Search  >  Institutional Profile

One of the leading comprehensive universities in Texas, the University of the Incarnate Word (UIW) in San Antonio strives to educate men and women who will become concerned and enlightened citizens with values developed in a Judeo-Christian tradition.

The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word founded Incarnate Word College in 1881 as a center of higher education for young women. The college was admitted to membership in the Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools in 1919, and joined the Texas Association of Colleges as a senior college in 1920. The Graduate Studies division was created in 1950. Male students were first admitted into the college's undergraduate programs in 1970. Incarnate Word College became the University of the Incarnate Word in 1996. Today, UIW is a Hispanic-Serving Institution under federal guidelines.

UIW has a global enrollment of 11,422 students, an increase from 3,702 in 2000. It’s the largest Catholic university in Texas and the third-largest private university in the state. The enrollment reflects the diversity of South Texas, as more than 60% of the students are from racial or ethnic minority groups. UIW is No. 1 nationally among private universities in the conferring of bachelor’s degrees to Hispanics. International students comprise 28% of the student body, and they represent 74 countries. Seventy-five percent of the students depend upon financial aid. Approximately one-third of the students are first-generation college attendees.

UIW offers 80 undergraduate and graduate fields of study, including Ph.Ds. in Education and Vision Science and doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.), optometry (OD), nursing practice (DNP), physical therapy (DPT) and business administration (DBA). UIW is one of two private or public universities in Texas with an optometry program, and also one of 20 in the U.S. The pharmacy program is the only one in Texas at a private university. UIW will open a school of osteopathic medicine at Brooks City Base in 2017. It will be the second private medical school in Texas and one of just six medical schools in the U.S. located at a Catholic university.

UIW's athletic program is a member of the Division I Southland Conference. UIW fielded its first football team in 2009, which plays its home games in Benson Stadium, named after New Orleans Saints owner Tom Benson.

With a student-to-faculty classroom ratio of 14:1, UIW provides students with an environment that encourages excellence in academics. As part of its international efforts, UIW has agreements for reciprocal education with 144 universities in 45 countries. It also operates academic sites in Mexico City, Mexico; Irapuato, Mexico; Heidelberg, Germany; and Strasbourg, France.

In 2016, UIW was chosen as one of the “Great Colleges to Work For” in a national survey by The Chronicle of Higher Education, the eighth consecutive year it has received this prestigious distinction. UIW also made the Chronicle’s national Top 10 Honor Roll in the medium-sized classification for universities with enrollments between 3,000 and 9,999 students. The graduate nursing program has been recognized as one of the top 65 graduate programs nationally by U.S. News Media Group. UIW has also been recognized by Super Scholar for having one of the best online college programs in the U.S.

UIW is accredited to award baccalaureate and graduate degrees by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. It’s also is accredited by the Texas Education Agency, the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs, the Council of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs of the National League for Nursing, the Board of Nurse Examiners for the State of Texas, the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs, the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology, the American Music Therapy Association, the Council of Education of the Deaf, the American Dietetic Association, and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.