Mission Awards

Home  >  Mission  >  News  >  Mission Awards

CCVI Spirit Award

The CCVI* Spirit Award recognizes a member of the faculty, administration, or staff who has demonstrated in service to the University and/or to the broader civic community, the spirit of the founders, the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word. The mission of the University flows directly from this spirit.

One award is given each year. All members of the campus community, lay and religious, part-time and full-time, are eligible. Selection of the honoree is made by a committee of faculty, administrators, and persons chosen for the award in past years.

In celebration of Incarnate Word Day, held annually in relation to March 25, the Feast of the Annunciation, the honoree is presented with an attractive piece of sculpture signifying the award. At the end of the award-year, the sculpture is passed on to the next nominee. The University also donates $500 to some ministry of the Congregation in honor of the nominee who determines the beneficiary. The nominee's name is placed on a permanent plaque displayed in the Administration Building.

Faculty, administration, staff, and students are invited to submit one or more nominations. Nominations made in previous years for persons who were not selected will be reconsidered each year. If in any year the Selection Committee determines that no suitable candidate has been proposed, the award will not be given out that year.

All nominations should be addressed to the Chair of the Committee, CCVI Spirit Award and be dropped in campus mail.

*CCVI is an acronym for Congregatio Sororum Caritatis a Verbo Incarnato, the Latin name for the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word, who sponsor the university.

The Mission Continues Faculty Awards Program

The "Mission Continues Faculty Awards Program" is a series of five annual awards. The awards are named for Sisters who represent the congregational heritage of living the Mission through teaching, scholarship, and community service. The awards recognize faculty for their commitment to promoting the Mission and supporting the ministry of the University of the Incarnate Word in an outstanding manner.

Award Title Value Represented
Sr. Maria Goretti Zehr Innovation
Sr. Eleanor Ann Young Truth
Sr. Margaret Rose Palmer Education
Sr. Columkille Colbert Service
Sr. St. Pierre Cinquin Faith

The faculty member nominated in each category will demonstrate in an outstanding manner one of the five mission values.

The celebration for these five awards will be held during Heritage Week.

Core Values