MENINGITIS VACCINE – IMPORTANT INFORMATION
Effective October 1, 2013, a change to Texas State law (SB 62) mandates that all entering students under the age of 22 provide a certificate signed by a health care provider or an official immunization record verifying that a student has been vaccinated against bacterial meningitis, or has received a booster during the five years preceding admission to the University.
An entering student includes:
(1) A new student, including transfer students
(2) A student previously enrolled in any institution of higher education following a break of at least one fall or spring semester.
The vaccine must be received prior to the 10th day before the first day of the semester. The vaccine is available through UIW Student Health Services utilizing the School Health Insurance Plan or for a fee of $145.00. It is also available through your local health department, your Primary Care Physician, HEB, Walgreens, CVS and many other convenient care centers. Pricing will vary and is covered by most private health insurance at city-wide pharmacies.
Students may submit their meningitis vaccination record to Health Services via email at firstname.lastname@example.org, by fax: 210-829-3125, or bringing it in person to Health Services. Please include UIW Student ID # and contact number where you can be reached.
A student, or a parent, or a guardian of a student, is not required to submit evidence of receiving the vaccination against bacterial meningitis if the student, or parent, or guardian of a student submits to the institution:
(1) An affidavit or a certificate signed by a physician who is duly licensed to practice medicine in the United States, in which it is stated that, in the physician’s opinion, the vaccination would be injurious to the health and well-being of the student; or
(2) An affidavit signed by the student stating that the student declines the vaccination for bacterial meningitis for reasons of conscience, including religious belief. A conscientious exemption form from the Texas Department of State health Services must be used.
(3) This law does not apply to students enrolled in on-line only courses or other distance education courses
The exemption application is now available online at: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/PDF/2602.PDF?CFID=43727809&CFTOKEN=85156272
If you will be living in the residence hall, documentation must be provided a minimum of 10 days prior to move-in. If you are a commuter student, you must comply with this law in order to register for the Spring 2015 semester.
We suggest viewing a 25 minute information video. The video is available at:
You will find information on:
Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions or concerns.
You can reach Health Services at 210-829-6017.