English Department

Faculty

Home  >  English Department  >  Faculty

English Department Full-Time Faculty

This list is a good way to get a feel for the department. You can also find out which instructors share your interests, especially if you need a thesis advisor.

emily clark

Emily Clark, Ph.D., Associate Professor
AD 359 * 283-5061
ejclark@uiwtx.edu

Interests: Postcolonialism, Modern British Literature, Modern American Literature, Critical Theory

Courses taught: Composition I and II, Studies in World Literature, Literary Theory

Tish Harding TIsh HardingA.B.D.Instructor
AD 340A * 829-6028
lharding@uiwtx.edu
Leticia Hooper

Elizabeth MathewsInstructorr
AD 340D * 805-5888
hooper@uiwtx.edu

InterestsComposition, African American Literature, and Gender Studies

Courses TaughtComposition I, Composition II, Business and Technical Writing, and American Literature

pat lonchar

Pat Lonchar, Ph.D., Associate Professor
AD 163 * 829-3886
lonchar@uiwtx.edu

Interests: British Literature (Old English-18th century), Medieval Studies, Women's Studies, Holocaust Studies, Rhetoric/Composition, American Literature (Colonial-19th century), Grammar, Writing for the Professions, World Literature in Translation

Courses Taught: Restoration Literature, Children's Literature, the Novel, Bibliography/Textual studeies, Pedagogy of English Language and Literature

  Christopher Paris, Ph.D., Associate Professor
AD 353 * 829-3803
paris@uiwtx.edu
hector perez

Héctor Pérez, Ph.D., Associate Professor
AD 347 * 829-3166
perez@uiwtx.edu

InterestsAmerican Lit. (late 19th-early 20th); Latin American Lit. in Translation; Literary Theory; Rhetoric/Composition; World Lit. in Translation

Courses TaughtChicana/o Studies; Radical Discourse; U.S. Minority Literatures; Writing for the Professions; Socio-Linguistics; Realism/Naturalism

David Pryor

David Pryor, Ph.D., Instructor
AD 259* 829-6066
pryor@uiwtx.edu

Interests: Composition Studies, American Literature, Modernism, Film Studies, Eastern Philosophy

Courses Taught: American Literature, Composition 1, Composition 2, Writing for the Professions, World Literary Studies.

Robbins

Joshua Robbins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

AD 340D * 829-6383

joshua.robbins@uiwtx.edu

Interests: Creative Writing, Literature and Theology, Writing in the Community

Courses Taught: Poetry Writing, Fiction Writing, Creative Nonfiction 

schubnell

Matthias Schubnell. Ph.D., Professor
Chair

AD 351 * 829-3892
schubnel@uiwtx.edu

Interests: American Lit. (Colonial-Contemporary); German Lit.; World Lit. in Translation; Rhetoric/Composition; Novel

Courses Taught: Native American Studies; Lit. of the Southwest; Willa Cather; M. Scott Momaday; Literature and the Environment

Tanja Stampfl

Tanja Stampfl, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
AD 340C * 829-3885
stampfl@uiwtx.edu

Interests: World Literature, American Literature, Composition and Rhetoric, Gender and Race Studies,Post-colonial Theory and Literature, Genre Studies

Course Taught: Composition, World Literature, Literary Theory, The Arab Novel, Contemporary Arab Literature, Publishing and Editing

Mary Beth Swofford

Mary Beth Swofford, Ph.D., Associate Professor
HIT 200D * 829-3807
swofford@uiwtx.edu