2018 News

Home  >  Dreeben School of Education  >  News  >  2018 News  >  2018 Honors Convocation

Dreeben School of Education celebrates 2018 Honors Convocation

Posted: April 19, 2018  |  by Dreeben School of Education
Filed Under: Dreeben School of Education
  • Student being recognized for awards
  • Clinical Teaching Students
  • Students at 2018 Honors Convocation
  • Students at 2018 Honors Convocation
  • Students at 2018 Honors Convocation
  • Faculty at 2018 Honors Convocation
  • Dean Staudt addressing the students, faculty and family
  • Dreeben School of Education staff members with Dean Staudt
  • Dreeben School of Education guest speaker
  • Dreeben School of Education award plaques
  • Student and family standing in front of Dreeben School of Education banner
  • Student with faculty member

The Dreeben School of Education at the University of the Incarnate Word hosted its annual Honors Convocation on April 18 in the Luella Bennack Music Center-Concert Hall. Ann David, Ph.D., assistant professor in Teacher Education, served as master of ceremonies for this year's awards ceremony.

Inci Yilmazli Trout, president of the Doctoral Student Association, delivered the invocation followed by welcoming remarks from Denise Staudt, Ed.D., dean of the Dreeben School of Education. More than 20 high-achieving students received awards for academic excellence and mission-centered service. 

2017-2018 Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition Award Winner Alexandria Alonzo

Alexandria Alonzo with Dean Staudt

Alexandria Alonzo (left) received the Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition Award presented by Denise Staudt, Ed.D., dean of the Dreeben School of Education. The Amy Freeman Lee Scholastic Achievement and Service Recognition Award is one of the most prestigious awards presented by the University of the Incarnate Word. Alexandria graduated in December as an Interdisciplinary Studies Major who received her certificate to teach elementary school. While on campus, she was a member of the University of the Incarnate Word softball team. Alex has received several recognitions for academic and athletic accomplishments, where she served the UIW and San Antonio community. Specifically, she coordinated many school supply drives to ensure that students in under-resourced schools—some of which are where she did her education fieldwork—had supplies.


2017-2018 Kappa Gamma Pi Saint Catherine Medal for Student Achievement Winner Elizabeth Loffler

Elizabeth Loffler with Dean Staudt

Elizabeth Loffler (left), received the Saint Catherine Medal for Student Achievement Certificate of Recognition presented by Denise Staudt, Ed.D., dean of the Dreeben School of Education. Elizabeth has volunteered her educational expertise at Grace Point Baptist Church, leading lock-ins, teaching vacation bible school, and leading crafts on Sunday mornings. The St. Catherine Medal is given to students who have exceptional academic standing in higher education. The candidates are in the top 10% of their graduating class and have an outstanding record of leadership and service at the University, in the community, and within their faith tradition. 


Presentation of Departmental Awards


Graduate Studies, Master’s Program

2017-2018 Graduate Studies-Master's award winners

In the front row, from left, are Mission Support Award winner Rosi Cortez, Outstanding International Student Award winner Sunghee Yea and Community Service Award winner Louisette Zurita. In the back row, from left, are Scholarship Award winner Julien Brown-Latham, Professional Practice Award winner Oscar Salazar and Child Advocacy Award winner Kathleen Allison Mulvey.

Graduate Studies, Doctoral Program

2017-2018 Doctoral Graduates award winners

In the front row, from left, are Excellence in Inquiry Award winner Inci Yilmazli Trout, Mission Support Award winner Urshula Hernandez and International Student Leadership Award winner Reem Alsunayd. In the back row, from left, are Scholarship Award winner LeWayne Ballard and Community Service Award winner Deborah Poole. 

Teacher Education Program

2017-2018 Teacher Education award winners

In the front row, from left, are Clinical Teaching-Secondary Award winner Rochelle Garcia and Clinical Teaching-Elementary Award winner Annalisa Mayhan. In the back row, from left, are Excellence in Teaching-Secondary Award winner Dorothy Hanson, Rising Star Award winner Emani Stewart and Excellence in Teaching-Elementary Award winner Sterling Davis. Photos unavailable for Clinical Teaching-MAT Award winner Frances Mejias and Excellence in Teaching-Secondary Award winner Martha Davila. 


Recognition of 2017-2018 Clinical Teachers



Jacquoline Acosta
Alexandria Alonzo
Anna Brocato
Maria Cano
Jennifer Cecena-Ruiz
Nathan Coppock
Kelly Cordova
Geneva Cubillo
Mallory Draper
Crystal Frost
Rochelle Garcia
Shaina Garza
Janelle Harwell
Kathleen Hoffman
Hannah Horner
Kaeli Humphries
Ashley Kowalczyk

Roberto Limon
Elizabeth Loffler
Jewel Long
Marcos Luna
Patrick Manjarrez
Bobbie Martinez
Annalisa Mayhan
Kelly Moore
Haley Nelson
Sarah Peregory
Gabriel Ramos
Steven Reyes
Christina Rivera
Angelica Russell
Bethany Smith
Stacie Walsh
Jenna Zepeda


Emily Brown
Lisa Brown

Erika Calvillo
Frances Mejias


Recognition of Student Organizations

Kappa Delta Epsilon

Education Honor Society


Jennifer Lingsch, President
Kelsey Martinez, Vice President

Alea Welch, Secretary
Miranda Gonzalez, Treasurer


Juliana Alcorta
Arianna Alvizo
Christopher Contreras
Luisafernanda Gutierrez
Kaeli Humphries
Taylor Medina
Hollie Oaks
Angelica Russell
Chelsea Wall

Xavier Alexander
Araceli Cabrera
Mallory Draper
Dorothy Hanson
Bobbie Martinez
Haley Nelson
Kearsten Pollok
Brianna Torres


Kearsten Pollok, President
Gracen Odendahl, Vice President
Sofia Hernandez, Secretary

Christopher Contreras, Treasurer
Luisafernanda Gutierrez, Social Media and Communications Manager
Brittany Hernandez, Event Director

Doctoral Student Association

Inci Yilmazli Trout, President
Marc Gilbert, Vice President
Alicja J. Sieczynska, Treasurer



Browse Categories

Search UIW News