Athletic Training

ATHP Honors, Awards and Scholarships


NATA District 6 - Southwest Athletic Trainers Association Scholarships

The scholarships offered to students of NATA District 6 are awarded by the scholarship committee of the Southwest Athletic Trainers Association. Scholarships are awarded to students according to academic and scholarship abilities.

  • Chris Carroll, 2010, Lem Cox Alert Services Scholarship
  • Shelly Lamon, 2005, Texas Society of Sports Medicine
  • Lauren Testa, 2011


DeLee-Evans Scholar through the Nix Healthcare Foundation

  • Krystle Kruizenga

Alamo Area Athletic Trainers Association

  • Krystle Kruizenga


New Horizon Award

This award goes to the student nominated by the program peers and clinical staff. This award is voted upon by the program director for overall clinical and didactic achievements over the course of the entire clinical component of the program. To qualify for the award, the student must be a senior that is eligible for licensure and certification at the end of the program.

  • Paul Brancheau, 2008-2009
  • Robert Cardenas, 2007-2008
  • Diana Carrillo, 2007-2008
  • Robert Garcia, 2004-2005
  • Alyssa Gonzales, 2010-2011
  • Pelagio Halaba, 2009-2010
  • Dina Jones, 2005-2006

William E. Pinky Newell Academic Achievement Award

This award is named after Dr. William E. "Pinky" Newell, one of the pioneers of the athletic training profession. Newell guided the profession to recognition and footing in the health care world. He was also the first to develop and footprint educational standards for the profession. The award is given to athletic training education student(s) that obtains an institutional cumulative 3.5 or better grade point average and is in their sophomore, junior or senior standing at the University of the Incarnate Word.

  • Chris Caroll, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011
  • Kerri Dawson, 2008-2009, 2009-2010, and 2010-2011
  • Nicholas De La O, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009
  • Remedios Dondoyano, 2010-2011
  • Lianah Flores, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, and 2009-2010
  • Sheena Forrero, 2008-2009 and 2009-2010
  • Rebekah Garza, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, and 2009-2010
  • Pelagio Halaba, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, and 2009-2010
  • Dina Jones, 2005-2006
  • Shelly Lamon, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006
  • Elizabeth Norton, 2008-2009, 2009-2010, and 2010-2011
  • Giovanna Nuances, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011
  • Sara Rodriguez, 2010-2011
  • Michaela Settlemeyer, 2004-2005
  • Lauren Testa, 2010-2011
  • Laura Thompson, 2004-2005
  • Evelyn Villalobos, 2005-2006
  • Amanda Zalesky, 2006-2007, 2007-2008 and 2008-2009

Patton Leadership and Guidance in Athletic Training Education Award

This award is named after Dr. Robert "Bobby" Patton, athletic training educator and former program director at Texas State University - San Marcos. Dr. Patton has devoted over forty years to the development of students and the development of the profession in the state and throughout the nation. His leadership, courage and pursuit has helped shape the profession of today. This award is given to the clinical instructor that shows an outstanding dedication to improving the student’s overall knowledge of the profession of athletic training. This individual is dedicated to the hands-on learning process along with the didactic component of the program.

  • TR St. Charles, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2010-2011
  • Shandra Esparza, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2006-2007
  • DonLouise Martens, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2008-2009
  • Dominic Moreno, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2004-2005
  • Vanessa Reyes, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2007-2008
  • William Robinson, ATC at the University of the Incarnate Word, 2005-2006
  • Paul Snodgrass, ATC at Sam Houson High School, 2009-2010

Most Improved in Athletic Training

This award is given to athletic training education student(s) that demonstrates the greatest improvement in their academic performance, confidence and clinical leadership in the didactic and clinical settings. This award is chosen by the program director and clinical coordinator.

  • Sarah Ayala, Spring 2008
  • Stephanie Mireles, Fall 2007
  • Jonathan Ramos, Spring 2009
  • Rachel Salinas, Fall 2009
  • Gabby Sanchez, 2006-2007
  • Jessica Tijerina, Spring 2010

Peer Award for Clinical Excellence in Athletic Training (PACE) Award

Nominated and chosen by each level of athletic training student (freshman, sophomore, junior, senior). This award is given to athletic training education student(s) that demonstrates leadership characteristics and consistently over achieves in the major.

  • Sal Cervantes, Junior Level 2004-2005, Senior Level 2005-2006
  • Chris Caroll, Sophomore Level 2009-2010
  • Diana Carrillo, Junior Level 2006-2007 and Senior Level 2007-2008
  • Nicholas DeLaO, Sophomore Level 2006-2007 and Junior Level 2007-2008
  • Lianah Flores, Junior Level 2008-2009
  • Sheena Forrero, Junior Level 2009-2010
  • Rebekah Garza, Junior Level 2008-2009
  • Alyssa Gonzales, Seinior Level 2010-2011
  • Erica Green, Senior Level 2007-2008
  • Racheal Henshaw, Sophomore Level 2005-2006
  • Pelagio Habala, Sophomore Level 2007-2008, Senior Level 2009-2010
  • Jaime Jacobs, Sophomore Level 2008-2009
  • Jonathan Jones, Junior Level 2010-2011
  • Martin Noyola, Senior Level 2004-2005
  • Lauren Testa, Sophomore Level 2010-2011
  • Analisa Torres, Junior Level 2010-2011
  • Eveyln Villalobos, Junior Level 2004-2005
  • Amanda Zalesky, Senior Level 2008-2009


More Quick Links